Chevron Left
Back to The Economics of Agro-Food Value Chains

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Economics of Agro-Food Value Chains by Technische Universität München (TUM)

4.3
86 ratings
28 reviews

About the Course

Have a look at our trailer for a brief introduction to this course: https://youtu.be/GADAgxTHjgE In this course, you learn how the agro-food value chain approaches the challenge of constantly improving its competitiveness by producing high quality food and products and also aiming to attain greater sustainability. Some of the topics of this course are: • The notion of quality for food and agricultural products and consumer value. • How to conduct market research in this field. • Labelling, branding and pricing strategies, as-well as innovation in the agro-food sector. • How sustainability can be used as a competitive advantage through corporate social responsibility. • The role and different types of industrial standards. • The different forms of coordination in the chain, in particular with regard to the retailing and distribution sector. This course is taught by a group of international experts from Universities in Italy, Germany, Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands. Each of them will give you insights into a specific topic related to food quality and the organization of the agro-food value chains....

Top reviews

SK

May 11, 2019

One of the best course for people who are following agribusiness degree. Good Job, Sir and Madam.Thank you for giving me this opportunity.

EH

Jan 15, 2019

This is a very interesting course, I encourage anyone interested to take it. For sure, you won't regret it.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for The Economics of Agro-Food Value Chains

By Sachithra P K

May 11, 2019

One of the best course for people who are following agribusiness degree. Good Job, Sir and Madam.Thank you for giving me this opportunity.

By Malick K

Apr 10, 2019

Despite some interesting modules, the content of many lessons is simply not informative enough (like a module on market study without any real example of market study).

There aren't enough case studies, concrete examples or even external resources. The course is way too long, principally because it's too theoretical.

I only recommend it if you're a 2nd or 3rd year student interested in the topic or if you are a graduate in another field with some knowledge of economics. Definitely not for professionals.

By aseema s

Mar 22, 2019

A great course to get started with the basics and some deeper concepts of Agri-Food Value chain. The course is easy to grasp and geographically independent. It works for people in Africa, India, Europe or anywhere else.

By Yusuf T

Feb 06, 2019

This lesson is very valuable to learn and improve the knowledge about the process of the agro-food value chain management. Today's complex and uncertain business world requires an agro-food industry that is growing well, creating welfare to the people, ensuring food safety and security and protecting ecosystem and biodiversity. Indeed, this course outputs all necessary information about the agro-food value chain analysis, development and competitiveness from the farm to the table. Thank you for the instructors, Technical University of Munich and the Coursera.

By Emmanuel H

Jan 15, 2019

This is a very interesting course, I encourage anyone interested to take it. For sure, you won't regret it.

By Robert V

Jan 06, 2019

Excellent comprehensive review of concepts, practices, and developments of value chains

By Sylvia W

Dec 01, 2018

Although I found the course quite interesting I had problems with understanding the English spoken, in the videos, by some of the professors, thus I was required to copy the text and re-read it afterwards. In the last two lessons of Module 13, the text must be revised, as there are some repeated parts.

By Sambhav B

Oct 11, 2018

A very helpful course if done the right way.

By Candy H

Oct 04, 2018

Great course with depth. Learn loads of essential information for food supply chain. However, some transcript does not match the video.

By Gustavo M P

Sep 25, 2018

Exams are very easy and evaluation systems/methods can be improved. Very accessible and didatic. Skilled and prepared teachers!

By Lianne M A T

Aug 28, 2018

It was really informative. I learned a lot from this especially already coming from a background of agricultural economics. The resources that were given in the course were very helpful for one's understanding. However, I disliked the manner of discussion. I wish that the discussion had been more lively so I could have been more attentive to the videos rather than just studying the course materials myself.

By Suraj G

Jul 22, 2018

Excellent for agricultural economics students!!!! Simple, concise and complete !!!

By Francisco B

Jul 08, 2018

Excellent course that should be taught worldwide in agreement with the Technische Universität München by universities, chambers of commerce, agricultural schools and others. How many agricultural growers are willing and dreaming to export their products to Europe and do not have an idea where to start ? Many, and this course is an excellent support. I really recommend it. It will also help agricultural growers to care more for the enviroment. I give my very sincere thanks to TUM and of course to Coursera too and repeat for this excellent course.

By mario w

May 07, 2018

thanks!

By Guillermo C

May 04, 2018

English skills of most of the professors were very poor. I had a very hard time understanding what they were saying, and it was also a little bit annoying that they were reading instead of actually explaining a topic. Regarding the material of the course, it was a bit too technical for my taste.

By AJAY S

Apr 03, 2018

Excellent Course! Must Recommended to all agricultural science students….

By vamsi k

Feb 27, 2018

ton of information.. but a lot of it is theoretical and some of it seems outdated

By Nkechi O

Feb 19, 2018

I loved it, great but it started getting boring in the 4th week

By Kim C

Feb 14, 2018

Some of the contents were less professional but still I enjoyed and earned a lot fthe course Thank you very much!

By Rami H

Feb 12, 2018

Very useful for every stakeholder in the agro food sector

By Pieter G d J

Jan 21, 2018

Good content and overview, some of the lecturers had trouble with English though and some of the quiz answers were not consistent with the content preceding it. Some of the quiz questions were also confusing - but maybe this was intentional :)

By Maria S S C

Jan 14, 2018

I think it is a great course for the starters in this area, enough easy to understand, with the most important concepts well transmitted, I enjoyed it!

By Bilal M

Jan 10, 2018

Overall, I think the course enriched me with lot of details regarding the agrifood industry. However, I think the last module taught by Montserrat Costa-Font was poor presented in terms of interaction and language.

By Adil T M

Dec 27, 2017

good intro. some very good topics and presenters (but not everyone...)

By Chimezie M U

Dec 24, 2017

The course was well presented; its scope can be expanded outside the EU to accommodate other markets