Chevron Left
Back to Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
1,914 ratings
538 reviews

About the Course

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Top reviews

BR

Sep 30, 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

AB

Jun 30, 2017

I really enjoyed to the professor and the idea of learning the material with her students. It made me feel as if I was in the classroom learning with them. She broke down the material in a great way.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 529 Reviews for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

By Dan

Dec 26, 2018

Fantastic course. Dr. Scanga is an excellent teacher and the slower-paced "in classroom" style with real students asking and answering questions was very effective. Also enjoyed the lab days and the interviews with other faculty. Quizzes were challenging and included case studies that really made you think. Every Coursera course should aspire to be like this one.

By arieh k

Jun 12, 2019

an exellenct course, i enjoyed it very much!

By Koreneva O

Jun 08, 2019

Very clear, thank you

By Adam K

Jun 07, 2019

The language was pretty difficult to grasp, but once understood it was very illuminating and fulfilling knowledge.

By clare b

Jun 06, 2019

I found this course very interesting

By Neetu G

Jun 03, 2019

The is too good...

Thank you coursera

By Roy G

Jun 02, 2019

The teacher simplified the course to the ability or level of her students .

excellent teacher ,very informative and simplified the terms and words she used

By Paul L

May 23, 2019

An excellent course to gain the basics and more of an in depth knowledge into what the body does and tells us with vital signs.

By Cynthia C

May 18, 2019

It sure was a great refresher after over 40 years

By Andrij S

May 13, 2019

вельми цікавий курс, дізнався багато нового про своє тіло, дякую!

very interesting, learned lot of new things about my body, thank you!

By Rouqayiah

May 11, 2019

coursera is an amazing website to enable learning and engage knowledge in establishing minds of children. i just hope there is a way to allow us, students, to take more time learning. i mean the expire date we just have to rush things, when there is so much to explore in coursera. please consider

sincerely, Rouqayiah

By

May 08, 2019

Excelente

By Edwin F C S

May 05, 2019

go

By Santty B

May 05, 2019

nice course!!

By

May 03, 2019

Very interesting and informative. The nice pace with questions at the end of each video to memorize better. Thank you!

By Hiranmayi C

May 02, 2019

It was very informative. I have learnt many new concepts here that haven't been reviewed in my class previously. Especially Metabolism, Temperature Regulation and Pain have been extremely helpful. A must do course for anyone interested in health care

By Kristina C

Apr 23, 2019

Great teacher!! The material was easy to follow and learn.. Absolutely loved this class!

By EL B M

Apr 21, 2019

nice

By Ahmed A T A

Apr 20, 2019

that is the best course about vital signs.

By Victor A B

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent

By Lida K

Apr 18, 2019

I'm so glad I've found this course! It is interesting and helpful. Dr. Scanga is the best teacher anyone could wish for. Thank you!

By Bryan A V C

Apr 18, 2019

Excelente curso, me permitió profundizar en conocimientos previos acerca de los signos vitales y a su vez mejorar mis técnicas de valoración en la práctica.

By mauricio f l

Apr 14, 2019

Great.

By Simon S

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Connie; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic. You're the best, indeed!

Thanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

By Gavin S

Apr 12, 2019

A really good course, nicely paced and with good explanations of the topics covered. The lecture format, with real students asking questions which prompted explanations, was nice. Thanks for running this.