Chevron Left
Back to Building Web Applications in PHP

Building Web Applications in PHP, University of Michigan

4.8
686 ratings
155 reviews

About this Course

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Top reviews

By YY

Feb 10, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

By VN

Feb 21, 2018

Thanks for a great course by which I learn a lot of experience from the experts :-). One of the my assignments has been gradually developed into a more robust site at https://englishpicture.net

Filter by:

153 Reviews

By Yousuf

Dec 05, 2018

Covers all basic requirements to get started with PHP.

By Le Matt

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent foundational. The "big picture" of a webapp interaction and then the basics of the major players. Of course a personable instructor sure helped!!!! Now on to a deeper learning voyage with no confusion on which way to go.

By Mansoor Hussein

Dec 04, 2018

Amazing, truly amazing.

PhD. Charles Severance is a great teacher, and shows how easy it is to get into coding and start using the tools that creats the biggest web applications to date.

It starts with some history and ends with you beating the code to write php!

By Ricardo Villegas

Dec 03, 2018

Excelent course! Highly recommended!

By Kashif Marjan

Dec 02, 2018

Dr. Chuck is motivational and excellent teacher. I also like bonus videos.

By TariqNawaz

Nov 28, 2018

Excellent tutor of Basic Php

By Jerry Warra

Nov 26, 2018

Easy to follow and learn

By Федотов Н.Е.

Nov 25, 2018

very interesting course,doctor Chuck is the best teacher in my life!

Now i know so much about Php and how it works and its very beautiful!

Thank you,Dr.Chuck!You are the best!

By Raja Aakash

Nov 24, 2018

This course is truly amazing.

I learned about from this course about web development.

By Wanze Enyi Nwosu

Nov 20, 2018

Great course that gradually builds, suitable for slow me...Dr. Chuck is doing a good job here. Hello world!