Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Introduction to Financial Accounting, University of Pennsylvania

4.7
4,097 ratings
949 reviews

About this Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

By MM

Feb 04, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

By BA

Feb 04, 2018

great course simple to understand and very entertaining. i really like the idea of the virtual students they add a nice touch to the course and the instructions and provide good questions and answers

Filter by:

920 Reviews

By Hendrik Witt

Feb 21, 2019

Fantastic Course. Packed with useful information. It's a good indicator that I had to pause the lecture frequently in order to write down and digest the information. Well done, many thanks!

By Yiyan Xu

Feb 19, 2019

useful course, helped me to prepare for more advanced courses!

By Chai,Ting-Wen

Feb 18, 2019

EASY AND QUICK TO LEARN

By Amy W

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic overview, covered all desired topics going into the course. The material itself was engaging and interesting, it should be said, however, that the instructor has a perplexing way of going about this. There is a running gag of having virtual students be angry and/or bored with the presented material. As someone genuinely interested in the topic, this came off rather crass and de-motivating rather than humorous. That said, the material itself was incredibly engaging and perfectly paced. Professor Bushee is an incredible teacher, perhaps not so incredible a comedian.

By Muhammad Nasrulhaq bin Mohd Bohari

Feb 17, 2019

This course is easy to understand for those who do not have accounting background like me. It really helps me to understand the basic components in financial accounting and how financial statements are prepared and analysed. The materials can be downloaded and I can always read them offline.

By Kanchi

Feb 16, 2019

Very helpful and easy to understand. the professor was very friendly and the material was helpful. definitely recommended.

By Sumorwuo Zaza

Feb 15, 2019

Professor Bushee is excellent!!

By mojianting

Feb 13, 2019

幽默风趣,深入简出!

By Vinh Tieu

Feb 11, 2019

Professor explains very clearly each definition of financial terms, he also supports some practical problems to solve and good materials to follow-up on each video. It's worth to rate 5 star for this course. Many thanks!

By Francesca Morse

Feb 09, 2019

I've only done week 1 of this course, and even though it is said to be for beginners, I would argue and say that it is not designed for beginners. Beginner courses should be designed to teach a student the basics of a subject, and for week 1 there are too many concepts thrown into the lesson plan and there's no way someone who is just learning this will be able to successfully complete the quiz, and the course. The design of Introduction to Marketing was great, the entire course taught you the basics of what you'd expect in Marketing, and it didn't overload you with concepts.

Expecting a student to get an 80% or above on the quizzes when they are just learning accounting is ridiculous. Also, when reviewing the quiz to see what answers you got wrong, all of the questions should provide you with the correct answer so you can at least see what you did wrong.

Overall, this is not a course that is designed very well for beginners, rather this course would discourage beginners from even pursuing a career path in accounting.