Chevron Left
Back to Corruption

Corruption, University of Pennsylvania

4.6
257 ratings
64 reviews

About this Course

You can't understand the world today if you don't understand corruption. Every day, we see high-level government officials resigning, governments changing, hundreds of thousands of people standing in squares, holding up signs, and often risking their lives to protest the corruption in the world. It's critically important to the health of our societies to understand what people are protesting against. We want to understand corruption. This course is designed to teach you about what corruption is, what causes corruption, the effects of corruption, and how to control corruption. We'll be talking about this from a global perspective using examples from all over the world. We'll also be talking about corruption from the perspective of countries, governments, businesses, citizens, and the people within these entities. At the end of this course, you'll have a better understanding of why the world is changing according to the path of corruption. If you're in a position to make changes within your respective entity, to make decisions about corruption, you'll be able to make better decisions....

Top reviews

By MA

Aug 16, 2018

I loved this course. It helped me to get a greater view at the real issue behind corruption. The last assignment really made me think about the subject and dive in to give it my best. Thank you!

By LB

Dec 05, 2017

Superb course. I learned about the cause and the effects of corruption. As a forensic investigator, this helps me in understanding the causes of corruption and financial crimes. Thank you.

Filter by:

63 Reviews

By Angelica Pinzon Montenegro

Nov 15, 2018

It was amazing!!! Thank you for showing me this course, I learned new things and have new tools to apply in my work

By Marek Boguszewicz

Oct 10, 2018

Excellent presentation skills and very relevant content....superb

By Scott Williams

Sep 25, 2018

Great course!

By Monica Avendaño

Aug 16, 2018

I loved this course. It helped me to get a greater view at the real issue behind corruption. The last assignment really made me think about the subject and dive in to give it my best. Thank you!

By Luz Alenka Nuňez Sarmiento

Aug 07, 2018

One of the best courses in Coursera.

By Marcos Piérola

Jul 27, 2018

I found the course to be quite shallow. It focused too much on the overall negative effects of corruption (which I would assume is something most of the people interested in taking this course are already familiar with) and did not spend much time exploring solutions or innovative ways to address cases of deeply rooted corruption in both businesses and institutions. The course was not bad, but it was far from being a resource I would deem to have been useful in preparing me for dealing with future manifestations of corruption.

By Lisa Everett

Jul 03, 2018

do not like format of waiting for other submissions to grade before moving on with certificate

By Diana Lucero Jaramillo Cruz

Jun 19, 2018

I learned a lot!

By Saim Sultan

Jun 02, 2018

Awesome course! Should have been a little more detailed, maybe dealing with some case studies, and intersection of corruption with law and jurisprudence in particular. It does make you realize that the field needs a lot of theoretical work to be done and there is significant space for original contribution.

By Sudhanshu Mathur

Mar 29, 2018

Amazing, simple yet intricate, this course is an excellent overview of the problem of corruption. As a high school student, I strongly recommend it for anyone willing to put in the effort - the content is not extremely complex. There are some really good examples and opportunities to learn more!