Chevron Left
Back to Global Trends for Business and Society

Global Trends for Business and Society, University of Pennsylvania

4.8
169 ratings
42 reviews

About this Course

In this course, you’ll learn to analyze rapidly changing global trends, their effects on consumer and labor markets, financial systems, and geopolitical relationships among countries all over the world. Professor Mauro Guillen of the Wharton School has designed this course to help you understand the magnitude of influence these trends have on the business world and society. Through real-world case studies, both historical and contemporary, you’ll examine how changes within one society affect others. By the end of this course, you’ll have gained the tools to be able to identify, analyze, and adapt to global changes as they affect your business and society....

Top reviews

By OO

Aug 14, 2018

This is a great course. It foster curiosity for creative thinking and innovation from a global economy perspective. I am now aware of global trends, inequalities, economic threats and opportunities.

By MD

Feb 16, 2019

Learned so much from this course. A broad range of topics, and a delightful way to navigate through the changing times in global trends. Highly recommend!

Filter by:

42 Reviews

By Megan Christine Dolan

Feb 16, 2019

Learned so much from this course. A broad range of topics, and a delightful way to navigate through the changing times in global trends. Highly recommend!

By Lekko Liu

Jan 30, 2019

A very helpful course allows me to think about the whole world situation with a multi-dimensional perspective and a broader mindset. A more macro perspective to observe economic, social, political and other related issues.

By Nishanth Muthusamy

Jan 29, 2019

I feel, It is a right ladder to look the world from top.

By FREDJOGER BARBOSA MENDES

Jan 09, 2019

Excellent course! Very well done content and unrepeatable presentation. I learned a lot and I am sure it will help me to develop new strategic skills.

By Megan Ballock

Jan 09, 2019

Amazing course! I would recommend this to everyone! The professor (Mauro Guillen) is fantastic and extremely knowledgeable.

By Christopher M Davis

Dec 18, 2018

The course offers a cursory overview of the past century or so in terms of trade, global conflict, and the balance of power. I thought the course could have been more engaging and thought provoking. I found the interruptions of the lecture with the professor's on-location videos to be jarring and disconnected to the lecture. Had he actually showed us something interesting that illuminated his point, that would have been useful. Last, there was little discussion of the implications of global trends for business. As a student, you'll have to draw the connections between global trends and the impact on business and making a better world.

By Jyoti Yadav

Nov 09, 2018

Thank for single handedly giving such an exceptional course.

By Bruno Chicalia

Nov 05, 2018

Makes me want to go in person. Great international insight

By Marek Boguszewicz

Oct 11, 2018

Superb course precise,well structured and the questions very logical and well correlated

By Vivek Singh

Oct 06, 2018

Wonderful. I've had a great interest in the subject for a long time and much of the discourse & material was already known to me but it was still useful to have it delivered in such a structured logically flowing fashion. Certainly helped fill in the odd gap.

And Mr. Guillen is an absolute joy to listen to, to the point where I found myself wishing I was physically attending his class so we could delve deeper into the subject. There are some wonderful stories in there illustrating the topic at hand (an example featuring painter Salvador Dali that illustrates the idea of currency and its debasement, is particularly charming).

I would strongly recommend this module to anybody who's interested in learning about the patterns that shape our world and what that can tell us about the future.