Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
3,006 ratings
513 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA

Dec 22, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

PN

Jul 28, 2017

This is a very well defined course to give a very good start to the knowledge of People Analytics. The professors have brought in numerous examples to make the understanding of analytics better.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 503 Reviews for People Analytics

By Noah G

Mar 14, 2019

It's a good high-level overview of material, but it only skims the surface. I would have preferred more depth. That said, given its short duration, the course went as deep as it could.

By Ankur G

Jan 08, 2019

Thank you Prof. Kassey, Prof. Haas and Prof. Bidwell. The course was nicely designed and really touched upon the pressing issues regarding people in an organization and how analytics can be used in overcoming those issues. I loved all the modules of the course and would recommend the course to anyone who wants to make a career in HR as analytics will be crucial in managing the workforce in coming time. The only recommendation is that it would be better if the course digs deeper into the techniques introduced. Overlall, great job by the team.

By Dr. G R K

Apr 24, 2019

This course is an eye opener and is explained in a very comprehensive manner. The Quizes measured the actual understanding of the concept. I would like to thank all the three faculty for their best efforts. It was wonderful being a part of this course.

By Alakh A

Apr 11, 2019

A very good introductory course. I would recommend completing a basics of statistics course as well to better understand the concepts. Prof. Cade Massey does an excellent job in covering the concepts most essential for implementing people analytics.

By Kenneth C

Feb 05, 2019

would be good if some of the examples were not football and baseball, given i'm not from the us and don't understand those sports... also would be good to do some research on crossfit given their sport model seems to lend itself more to ppl analytics

By Danilo V

Jun 26, 2019

very useful, thank you

By Rati R

Jun 26, 2019

The course does well as an intro to People Analytics... I feel that the Staffing section needs to be broken down to explain it more simply as the other sections are done.

By Siddharth

Jun 24, 2019

It's a great course if you wish to gain insights into analytics without any prior knowledge or background (that was the case with me and my experience is absolutely great!)

By Pedro H d S H

Jun 22, 2019

This was one of the best course, with more important content for my present job.

By Ahtsham A

Jun 20, 2019

Need more PRACTICAL REAL Examples for students understanding

By Jyoti K

Jun 15, 2019

I really liked the content. Important concepts were discussed without using any tools. Biases discussed in the course are very important and relevant for people analytics.

By Persiya J C

Jun 14, 2019

this course from coursera was very useful in helping me understand the performanace management and staffing to a greater exten

By Agustín D P

Jun 06, 2019

You will obtain some basic theoretical concepts regarding analytics but nothing about actually using analytics tools and analysing data.

By Belen F

Jun 05, 2019

A clear explanation of how analytics can be used/applied in the different aspects relevant to people management. From selection to development. Pretty well conducted and with clear examples.

By Patricia V

Jun 04, 2019

Professores excelentes, conteúdo com casos e várias leituras adicionais para complementar o entendimento. Estou encantada e muito animada para me aprofundar ainda mais neste tema! Obrigada!

By Colin E

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent introduction to people analytics and their use in a range of organizational talent management settings.

By Carlos J B A

Jun 03, 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

By Ram P

Jun 03, 2019

very useful... interesting.. thanks alot

By Hien N

Jun 02, 2019

This is one of the most interesting course with new insights and deep research on people analytics, particularly in performance evaluation, staffing, talent management. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is newly start at an organization or want to establish a good management skills within an organization.

By hejiamian

May 28, 2019

got a good brief introduction of People Analytics, love Professor Massey's way to teach, giving some practical example to understand the concept. Prof. Bidwell gave some hints on statistic which are very helpful and essential for data analyst. Prof. Haas's introduction to organization analytics is new to me, hope can give more hands-on example, especially on measure and evaluate part. Thanks a lot. Big data VS smart data is very challenging.

By Ralph B

May 23, 2019

Good material, good teachers and a lot of good examples.

By Clint S

May 21, 2019

Good material just wasn't interesting to me

By Anwesha B

May 21, 2019

Comprehensive and Insightful.

By Poojitha R C

May 17, 2019

Very informative

By Sravan R

May 15, 2019

Concise and excellent!