Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,029 ratings
778 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 753 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Aarij A

Jul 06, 2019

the course is mere naming of concepts used in modeling with no actual way of learning how to practise the things taught in the course :(

By Zijian D

Nov 19, 2018

Good explanation by the lecturer!!

By Christopher D

Nov 19, 2018

I would say that this course requires a good understanding of mathematics. This course deals with numerous concepts related to statistics. The teacher does an excellent job of explicating these concepts, yet students may need external resources (i.e., Wikipedia, Youtube, etc.) to aid in the understanding.

By Muhammad Z

Nov 17, 2018

great learning like a exponential function!

By Mayra B

Dec 04, 2018

Muy educativo y bastante dinámica, te brinda toda la base de modelos cuantitativos

By Mesa I N

Dec 18, 2018

I obtained additional knowledge about this material. By learning online, I can have enough dynamic time to dig deeper without interfering with my work activities.

By GAUTAM S

Dec 07, 2018

Learned much.

By Ivan D A G

Dec 20, 2018

Gracias por permitirme tomar este curso, ha sido de gran ayuda para complementar mis conocimientos financieros y en especial conocer como se estructuran los modelos financieros desde identificar la data hasta optimizar el modelo/función. Me servirá para trabajar en optimizaciones de procesos de negocio.

By Corneles J D

Dec 09, 2018

This course makes it very easy to understand quantitative modelling because of the simple examples used here. Great course, would recommend this to Coursera users looking to understand the fundamentals of models.

By Fernando N

Dec 13, 2018

As the name of the course states, we went through the fundamentals of quantitative modeling. I come from an Economics background, so the course was not very challenging but the quality of the course is very high and I do see how other people with no background in business/finance/economics could immensely benefit from it.

By Steven B

Jan 01, 2019

Very informative class with no fluff. Previous knowledge of probability and regression is very helpful.

By Burak Ü

Jan 27, 2019

It was one of the best online-courses that I ever had. The things that I learned throughout the course was very beneficial for my job as well.

By Iris

Jan 30, 2019

easy-learning and helpful, with many examples to deep my understanding of the models

By Aaron

Nov 22, 2018

Very good course.

By Jiajie S

Nov 08, 2018

Clear explanations and helped me reviewed basic stats models and distributions.

By Carlos C M C

Nov 09, 2018

Excellent course, very complete and specific! Thanks for all

By Gabriel C C T

Nov 11, 2018

An incredible and enjoyable course of study. The teacher has an excellent didactics and the content adds a lot to the career

By Justyna K

Nov 11, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. Everything was very clearly explained and it was easy to follow.

By NIKHIL V

Nov 11, 2018

Simply fantastic.

By Catherine Z

Jan 17, 2019

A basic course on quantitative modeling, but provides a big picture and key concepts and models, and clearly presented - a great course.

By Nancy J M

Jan 05, 2019

Nice overview of the core features of models.

By Janice N C W

Jan 20, 2019

A very good introductory course to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modelling. Professor Richard Waterman's explanations are clear and concise. Definitive examples makes it so much easier for students without mathematical backgrounds to grasp the concept and encourages us to think of applying these theories to real life problems.

By Inmaculada M

Feb 09, 2019

genial

By David v D

Feb 08, 2019

Good fundamental course in modeling, very clear explanations by the lecturer

By Zhongyuan Z

Feb 09, 2019

The course is very awesome. I learned about the fundamentals in this area. Thanks Coursera for providing the course.