Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,029 ratings
778 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 753 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By GHANTASALA N L S P K

Apr 05, 2019

very good and simple to understand

By Sebyll O

Apr 04, 2019

I really enjoyed the course! The slides are excellent! Thanks for the great learning experience!

By Shaakalya P

Apr 08, 2019

Excellent materials on the Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling.

By Dean S

Apr 09, 2019

Excellent entry level course on the fundamentals of business modelling.

By Obonye M

Apr 09, 2019

Very insightful, yet technically loaded with fundamental concepts for modelling and statistics

By Yingzhao Z

Mar 06, 2019

quite simple and useful

By Carlos H L d M

Mar 09, 2019

Awesome

By Raphael L

Mar 08, 2019

Clear and concise explanations of the concepts.

By GUO X

Mar 17, 2019

It is a very helpful course with clear instruction for beignners!

By PRAMOD K S

Mar 19, 2019

awesome

By Nancy J M

Jan 05, 2019

Nice overview of the core features of models.

By Corneles J D

Dec 09, 2018

This course makes it very easy to understand quantitative modelling because of the simple examples used here. Great course, would recommend this to Coursera users looking to understand the fundamentals of models.

By GAUTAM S

Dec 07, 2018

Learned much.

By Janice N C W

Jan 20, 2019

A very good introductory course to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modelling. Professor Richard Waterman's explanations are clear and concise. Definitive examples makes it so much easier for students without mathematical backgrounds to grasp the concept and encourages us to think of applying these theories to real life problems.

By Mohit R S

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent course

By Sinduja

Feb 13, 2019

I really enjoyed learning with examples. There were certain aspects of basic modelling which I was unaware of but the specific illustrations and characteristics of the basic modelling techniques really helped me enrich my knowledge.

One thing that stayed with me "All models are wrong but some are useful".

Loved the teaching!!

By Sebastian S G

Mar 11, 2019

Very interesting and easy way to get an introduction into quantitative models.

By Christian M

Mar 10, 2019

This course was an excellent refresher and serves as a good foundation for anyone interested in modeling. Highly recommended.

By Goran C

Feb 26, 2019

I love UPenn!

By Hansel B

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course for beginners and adroit users alike. Adds perspective into modeling using real world examples.

By Godwin S C

Jul 08, 2018

Very insightful course. Will recommend this for any student. One will need to read the recommended book earlier on in the course the appreciate and understand the course more, especially if your stats and probability is a bit rusty or absent.I enjoyed the examples in the course as well. Very practical and I can relate to them

By Joseph K

Mar 09, 2016

Excellent foundational knowledge.

By Victoria C

May 25, 2017

Helpful and straightforward.

By Fabiano B

Jan 10, 2017

Excellent Course, Material and Professor .

By Emmanuel O B

Sep 07, 2017

A big thank you to Professor Waterman and the Coursera team. Well done guys!