Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,029 ratings
778 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 753 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Nicholas P

Jun 07, 2018

Great content!

By Victor_M

Sep 29, 2016

Very useful and helpful! Thank you Professor Waterman!

By Samarth M

May 27, 2017

Extremely insightful, learning and invoking.

By K

Jul 02, 2017

Excellent content and framing of how to approach quantitative modeling.

By Prashant S

Sep 25, 2017

Very nice and concrete overview of basic modeling techniques for business and finance.

By Vivin R

May 27, 2017

Extremely easy to understand and well explained! Thank you so much!

By Jakob P

Jul 04, 2017

The fundamental concepts of quantitative modelling are nicely introduced, though, the level is VERY basic.

By Jonathan P

Apr 23, 2017

Very well done and easy to understand.

By Alessandro I

Mar 22, 2017

The concepts are really well explained and the video lectures are engaging (not boring). The tone of the professor is appropriate and I really appreciated his way to explain economics modeling.

I already knew part of the topics and treat them in my university career, but it was helpful to give my memory a little boost and explore them in a different way that I'm used to.

The difficulty is less than average; I would say that is appropriate for an undergraduate course and proportional for the effort required (2-3 hours par week).

By Melvin T

Sep 25, 2017

This course helped me understand quantitative modelling

By Tejasv A

Jun 09, 2017

Great overview, with good balance of theoretical and examples. Looking forward to the rest of the Specialization.

By Krishna C

Sep 24, 2017

v

e

r

y

u

s

e

f

u

l

By Syed D H

May 09, 2017

Excellent course and instructor!

By Weiming H

Apr 05, 2017

Great fundamental course.

By René A M

Feb 22, 2017

Well explained concepts

By Zehan W

Jun 16, 2018

Great prof!!Great class!!

By Ravi B

Apr 23, 2017

On point with excellent examples.

By Vivek P

Jun 25, 2017

Very insightful, and a good foundation for a comprehensive learning of modelling and analytics!

By Jeffreytang

Jul 27, 2017

Very helpful course!I learned a lot about modeling!

By Bishram

Dec 31, 2017

Great learning experience. Thank you Coursera and Prof.

By Rick F

Oct 21, 2017

Well articulated, very clear about important concepts. Good course for a introduction on modeling.

By Muhammad A R

Jun 29, 2016

Professor Waterman did an Excellent job of explaining complex concepts in an easy to understand language. The use of examples, for almost all concepts, in the course was something I just enjoyed very much! Priceless!

By Juhi M

Aug 19, 2017

It is a great course to get hands on experience different types of models.

By Nachiket H

Sep 26, 2016

Great course. All the concepts have been explained very clearly. The course content has been presented exceptionally well by Professor Richard.

By AGUSTIN G A

Sep 30, 2017

The lessons were very interesting and Richard P. Waterman was a great professor. I sincerely recomend this course.