Chevron Left
Back to Social Entrepreneurship

Social Entrepreneurship, University of Pennsylvania

4.7
79 ratings
14 reviews

About this Course

How do we create innovative and effective solutions to social problems around the world ? This course was designed for individuals and organizations who want to identify and bring about transformative societal change. Professors Jim Thompson and Ian “Mac” MacMillan help you develop both a strategy and a framework for your social enterprise based on their years of experience and expertise teaching social entrepreneurship and advising entrepreneurs. You’ll learn how to define a social problem, understand contextual realities, develop a solution, and plan for effective deployment. By the end of this course, you’ll have a deep understanding of the realities of launching an enterprise, be prepared for every step of the process, and put your social entrepreneurial venture on the path to success....

Top reviews

By CB

Jun 27, 2018

This course is exactly what i needed. It is well explained and the case studies given are very good.

By RD

Jan 10, 2018

So well explained and so critical to the work that i plan to begin. Thank you.

Filter by:

14 Reviews

By Shefali Saluja

Nov 21, 2018

Since I am the mentor for Entrepreneurship in my University- Chitkara University, this course has been extremely helpful to me . Also in teh process of taking this course , I am on week 2 and I feel this is something which i woud refer to my students in university. Well explained !

Thankyou

Shefali Saluja | Assistant Professor | Chitkara University

shefali.saluja@chitkara.edu.in

By Marek Boguszewicz

Oct 16, 2018

Very well presented, structure and material very relevant

By Harald Feldmann

Sep 29, 2018

Clearly presented, a step-by-step logical explanation of how to approach goals with social benefit with an entrepreneurial mindset. Kudos to you for having developed this and making it available to the wider public via the Internet.

By Danai Srijunchai

Sep 27, 2018

Very Useful, Thank you

By Alexander Gamberg

Jul 31, 2018

Great material, could be a little more challenging with the quizzes.

By Charity Bvalamwendo

Jun 27, 2018

This course is exactly what i needed. It is well explained and the case studies given are very good.

By Andres Alejandro Canovas Suarez

May 29, 2018

E

By Leonel Sebstián-Chavarría

Apr 02, 2018

Very good teachers.

By Nunki

Mar 15, 2018

This course give me a really good understanding about Social Entrepreneurship. The materials are simple yet rich of information. As a person without business background and English as second language, at the first time I thought it will be hard for me to study. But it turned out, I can understand because professors are explain using daily conversation words. Of course there are business terms mentioned, but they provide small text for the explanation. Thank you very much. I am a happy student.

By Kelly LaPlante

Mar 10, 2018

This is exactly the knowledge I have been seeking, presented in a very clear understandable format. Professor Thompson and Professor "Mac" are engaging, entertaining and, at moments, genuinely adorable. I truly enjoyed the course, thank you!