Chevron Left
Back to Aboriginal Worldviews and Education

Aboriginal Worldviews and Education, University of Toronto

4.8
56 ratings
30 reviews

About this Course

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

Top reviews

By MA

Aug 21, 2018

A fantastic course. I learnt so much and the instructors were fantastic. I think this course is so necessary for all settler Canadians, not just those involved in or interested in education.

By CH

Jun 20, 2017

The course material is useful, indepth and eye-opening. A great course explaining various views. I have a much better understanding of the culture and challenges.

Filter by:

29 Reviews

By Courtney Milne

Feb 11, 2019

Really great introductory course for individuals who are largely unfamiliar with Indigenous Worldview in Canada. For those who have some prior knowledge, it may be too basic but it's always helpful and important to review previous knowledge, so it's a good course for everyone!

By Irina Dragan

Jan 26, 2019

I absolutely loved this course! I only feel bad that it was so short! And I hope that there are other courses about Indigenous Peoples that I can take to continue my learning. Jean Paul Restoule, thank you so much! Chi miigwec!

By Kyle Tekonomy

Jan 07, 2019

Some missing or broken links made accessing some of the material more difficult. While a quick google search was usually sufficient to find what was missing there was one exception, where a free copy of the chapter reading was not readily accessible.

The information in the course was quite interesting and I enjoyed the interviews/special guests. I hope you keep up the great work making this kind if education accessible for more Canadians.

By Elianne

Jan 05, 2019

A short introduction into a totally different form of education. Truely inspiring

By Catherine Hess

Dec 23, 2018

Pretty interesting class! Sometimes it seems like the lectures go on longer than they have to, to get its point across, but still well worth it!!

By Joy Smith

Aug 27, 2018

lots of good info. Always wondered what Canada called their natives.

By Mandy Alves

Aug 21, 2018

A fantastic course. I learnt so much and the instructors were fantastic. I think this course is so necessary for all settler Canadians, not just those involved in or interested in education.

By Damon Todd Roman

Aug 16, 2018

I feel like, I understand my Heritage and myself like never before. This class has been invaluable in learning much what has been lost in my family.

By Jim Priebe

Jun 11, 2018

Excellent and relevant content. Informative & thought provoking.

By KJ Palmer

Apr 12, 2018

Would like note to read as opposed to all lectures, would allow me to work on the course around my teaching times more easily.