Chevron Left
Back to Accounting Analytics

Accounting Analytics, University of Pennsylvania

4.5
1,745 ratings
310 reviews

About this Course

Accounting Analytics explores how financial statement data and non-financial metrics can be linked to financial performance.  In this course, taught by Wharton’s acclaimed accounting professors, you’ll learn how data is used to assess what drives financial performance and to forecast future financial scenarios. While many accounting and financial organizations deliver data, accounting analytics deploys that data to deliver insight, and this course will explore the many areas in which accounting data provides insight into other business areas including consumer behavior predictions, corporate strategy, risk management, optimization, and more. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how financial data and non-financial data interact to forecast events, optimize operations, and determine strategy. This course has been designed to help you make better business decisions about the emerging roles of accounting analytics, so that you can apply what you’ve learned to make your own business decisions and create strategy using financial data. ...

Top reviews

By FA

Jun 12, 2018

One of the most practical courses I have taken in Coursera. Highly recommended for professionals in Business, Strategy, and Finance & Accounting departments, as well as stock market investors.

By PB

Feb 05, 2016

The course makes accounting interesting and especially the examples are very illustrative. Virtual students bring some fun. The 4th week is however really integrated in the course structure.

Filter by:

302 Reviews

By María Alejandra Silva Rondón

Apr 19, 2019

Even I don{s have any experience in Accounting (actually it is in Communications & Marketing) I really appreciate how Prof Bushee introduces all the concepts, and how he really try to make them less boring with resources like the "animated classroom", with different students and "personalities". It was also really interesting how you can connect performance measures like customer satisfaction to financial results, and for me, as a Marketing Manager in a telco company was important to admit that we just have to focus in improve some measures y some really, specific target. Not all costumers are the same, and unfortunatelly, not all are equally profitable.

By Samuel Figueredo

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent material and approach.

By Kevin S. Lacey

Apr 15, 2019

Realized there are some nuances that I need to go back and acquaint myself with

By Daniel Castillo

Apr 15, 2019

It is an amazing course excellent to develop financial and accounting skill!

By Edwin

Apr 08, 2019

The course is awesome. I got a new insight on my Master research. Thanks professor Bushee and professor Ittner.

By Raghav Sharma

Apr 07, 2019

Very interestingly taught, with active effort put in by the tutors. Good style of teaching that keeps things interesting. 4 stars since the last week felt under-done and repetitive within itself.

By Anh Vu

Apr 07, 2019

Very useful in terms of leveraging available financial as well as non-financial data to actually gaining insight

By Giancarlo Piva

Apr 06, 2019

Professors Ittner and Bushee are very prepared and likeable. Ideal either if you have accounting and finance background or not.

By John Hanzhang Ye

Mar 31, 2019

Professor Bushee is interesting and although what he teach is quite difficult for beginner, he tries hard to make it fun and easy to understand.

By Kaustubh Chandrashekhar Dalvi

Mar 27, 2019

Learnt different tools for financial and non-financial analysis. Also the methods which helps to detect earnings management.