Chevron Left
Back to Accounting Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Accounting Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
1,791 ratings
315 reviews

About the Course

Accounting Analytics explores how financial statement data and non-financial metrics can be linked to financial performance.  In this course, taught by Wharton’s acclaimed accounting professors, you’ll learn how data is used to assess what drives financial performance and to forecast future financial scenarios. While many accounting and financial organizations deliver data, accounting analytics deploys that data to deliver insight, and this course will explore the many areas in which accounting data provides insight into other business areas including consumer behavior predictions, corporate strategy, risk management, optimization, and more. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how financial data and non-financial data interact to forecast events, optimize operations, and determine strategy. This course has been designed to help you make better business decisions about the emerging roles of accounting analytics, so that you can apply what you’ve learned to make your own business decisions and create strategy using financial data. ...

Top reviews

FA

Jun 12, 2018

One of the most practical courses I have taken in Coursera. Highly recommended for professionals in Business, Strategy, and Finance & Accounting departments, as well as stock market investors.

PB

Feb 05, 2016

The course makes accounting interesting and especially the examples are very illustrative. Virtual students bring some fun. The 4th week is however really integrated in the course structure.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 313 Reviews for Accounting Analytics

By Emad S

Feb 09, 2019

the worst instructor and the most of the lectures are not materials are not enough to get you through to pass the quiz!

By Nick S

Apr 26, 2017

First of all, I really enjoyed Professor Ittner's presentations. Sadly, his presentation was only 25% of the course. Professor Ittner was very direct but also was very engaging in how he delivered his content. I had a good feeling that I could really understand the material he was teaching. If I could give a rating for just Professor Ittner, I would give a 5 star rating. Now, this is why I am giving this course a 1 star rating. But I do have to say, going into the depths of Accounting Analytics is not easy. You really need to have a good grasp of Accounting otherwise you will get lost. Professor Bushee did not make the first 3 weeks really easy to get through. While I enjoyed his examples & case studies, he simply did not do a great job of really explaining and illustrating the concepts he was teaching. And worst of all, he setup a digitally generated classroom where he had his computer generated students ask pointless questions, make pointless statements, or answer with pointless statements/answers. I really wish I had the time to analyze how much of the course time he spent doing this, I would estimate that it's around 10% but it could very well be higher. There are so many different examples to pick form, but I'll just pick a few here. "I didn't read the Iliad or Odyssey some I'm not going to ask you to" in reference why in regression there are Greek letter used for coefficients (it's a fair assumption that someone taking this class understands coefficients), a 30 second exchange where a PC generate student says that they're "stocked" to run some regression followed by Proffessor Bushee informing us that "we're going to run some narly regressions", Professor Bushee saying he doesn't know how to perform Earning Management Analysis on Mars but he certainly knows how to do it on Earth, and a joke why people don't like accountants. These segments add absolutely zero value. They lengthen the time of the course. To make maters worse, I'm sure Proffessor Bushee had to spend even more time creating this additional interaction together.

By Marco B

Jan 30, 2019

useful in terms of how to dig into accounting statements

I would have appreciated other pratical applications examples apart from earnings management or frauds detection

By Brent A

Aug 29, 2018

Prof Bushee is the accounting professor that we wish we all had in undergrad / postgrad! His accolades at the school were clearly well earned!!

Loss of 1 star on the course due to the Week 4 module. Could have used a lot more concrete examples / numbers, not just "here are the results!"

By Kwek W C

Mar 11, 2018

Very poor service to response to my problem. I'm asked to pay to upgrade after completing the quiz when I'm already a paid subscriber. Nobody can tell me what's wrong and resolve it! I'm wasting my time waiting!!!

By Krzysztof S

Feb 19, 2016

I loved the Accounting part of the course. It was quite hard for me (non-accounting person), however I really enjoyed the form of the lectures and the content itself (the earnings management + its revealing). Great materials Professor Bushee!

By Pasa C

Jun 23, 2019

Nicely organized, energetic professors, very helpful for future career.

By Charles U M

Jun 10, 2019

This course brought out the professionalism in me. I will say many thanks to cousera for such an amazing opportunity

By Danyal R

Jun 01, 2019

Difficult and dry subject.

By Abishek G S

Jun 01, 2019

I loved the entire course and it taught me a lot of things that were unknown to me prior to taking it up. The professors were very knowledgeable and experts in their field and it had been an amazing learning experience. One of the few accounting courses that could never be termed "boring" ! Kudos and Cheers, Prof. Bushee and Prof. Itner !

By Romain S

May 31, 2019

This course is maybe the hardest amongst analysis courses, but also the best one.

I highly recommand you to follow this MOOC

By Archit G

May 28, 2019

One of the best course I have ever taken

By Rakib H C

May 26, 2019

Really, a practical course. It will help me to improve my decision making capacity based on critical analysis of any situation. Thanks Wharton, University of Pennsylvania and Coursera for making those critical thinks easy for us. Hope it will improve my capability to be a successful Manager.

By Shivam S

May 22, 2019

The last weeks lecture was too much theoretical. No numbers used .Rest was Fantastic and a great leaning experience.The lectures on earning management was very nice and interesting

By Cassidy L

May 20, 2019

HORRIBLE professor for the first three weeks. Bad technology use. The weekly information was not nearly enough to complete the very complex quiz questions. They required WAY too many assumptions for being a course that, in my opinion, should be teaching theory, not application.

By Sairam M

May 17, 2019

Its wonderful course for those want to know how manipulation in financial statements carried out. I personally got benefited by taking this course

By Sylina J

Apr 25, 2019

great teacher, great class, great information!

By María A S R

Apr 19, 2019

Even I don{s have any experience in Accounting (actually it is in Communications & Marketing) I really appreciate how Prof Bushee introduces all the concepts, and how he really try to make them less boring with resources like the "animated classroom", with different students and "personalities". It was also really interesting how you can connect performance measures like customer satisfaction to financial results, and for me, as a Marketing Manager in a telco company was important to admit that we just have to focus in improve some measures y some really, specific target. Not all costumers are the same, and unfortunatelly, not all are equally profitable.

By Samuel F

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent material and approach.

By Kevin S L

Apr 15, 2019

Realized there are some nuances that I need to go back and acquaint myself with

By Daniel C

Apr 15, 2019

It is an amazing course excellent to develop financial and accounting skill!

By Edwin

Apr 08, 2019

The course is awesome. I got a new insight on my Master research. Thanks professor Bushee and professor Ittner.

By Raghav S

Apr 07, 2019

Very interestingly taught, with active effort put in by the tutors. Good style of teaching that keeps things interesting. 4 stars since the last week felt under-done and repetitive within itself.

By Anh V

Apr 07, 2019

Very useful in terms of leveraging available financial as well as non-financial data to actually gaining insight

By Giancarlo P

Apr 06, 2019

Professors Ittner and Bushee are very prepared and likeable. Ideal either if you have accounting and finance background or not.