Chevron Left
Back to Age of Jefferson

Age of Jefferson, University of Virginia

4.6
254 ratings
83 reviews

About this Course

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

Top reviews

By HM

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

By PL

Oct 13, 2017

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

Filter by:

81 Reviews

By Jennifer Egas

Nov 10, 2018

Excellent course! The videos and materials were most interesting!

By Ilanka

Sep 01, 2018

I enjoyed the course, though initially I expected more factual information. It's more of an emotional overview and, surprisingly, it allowed me to get a feel of that epoch. Lots of issues I found answers to. Great thanks to the entire team that worked to put this course together!

By Gary Evans

Sep 01, 2018

Excellent professor.

By Julien Ducret

Jun 30, 2018

I might have misread the course description but I expected more the class to be about Jefferson's policies in practice rather than his vision.The course however was well-structured and followed a logical thread. I did have some issue sometimes making heads and tails of the professor's lectures.

By Marianne Borselle

May 25, 2018

The professor and material were really great

By Charles Edward Miller

May 09, 2018

Thanks to this course I understand a great of the legacy of President Thomas Jefferson, and why my first cousin seven times removed, Congressman Thomas Wynns of North Carolina, was such a staunch supporter of this president. Thomas Wynns helped to begin the University of North Carolina at Chapel H

By Jeremy Brown

Mar 29, 2018

Great lectures and well-chosen readings. Very well organized!

By Doug Fechter

Feb 11, 2018

I enjoyed the course. Jefferson was a true revolutionary; this course details his leadership in bringing about many of the liberties we take for granted today.

By Kathleen Strope

Jan 12, 2018

The professor is an excellent and entertaining lecturer...very compelling look at Jefferson, his life, and his accomplishments. I'm very happy the educators did not shy away from the more distasteful aspects of Jefferson's life (i.e. his being a slaveholder). There was also a good mix of lecture, q & a, and campus tours of UVA. I re

By ella elizabeth oursler

Nov 29, 2017

He's a well educated man, lively; a good speaker