Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms, Stanford University

4.8
2,362 ratings
449 reviews

About this Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

By KS

Sep 14, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

By FR

Mar 16, 2017

Very good course in algorithms. I bought the book to help me understand but the lectures make it way easier and thus much more fun to understand the analysis. Looking forward to complete the spec

Filter by:

431 Reviews

By Mohini Agrawal

Feb 19, 2019

excellent

By Daniel Zimarev

Feb 18, 2019

Good introductory course: allows to relatively quickly go through the topic without getting stuck in too much detail; hands on assignments are nice and useful. The slides I feel could be further improved to (i) aid rapid understanding, (ii) be more helpful in problem solving and (iii) have a few more maps back to the bigger picture.

By Murad Tovmasyan

Feb 14, 2019

great lectures, helps to develop algorithmic thinking

By Xie Ruochen

Feb 11, 2019

By Thomas Nguyen

Feb 09, 2019

After spending a lot of time on this specialisation, you will receive a certificate upon completion which says "SOME ONLINE COURSES MAY DRAW ON MATERIAL FROM COURSES TAUGHT ON-CAMPUS BUT THEY ARE NOT EQUIVALENT TO ON-CAMPUS COURSES. THIS STATEMENT DOES NOT AFFIRM THAT THIS PARTICIPANT WAS ENROLLED AS A STUDENT AT STANFORD UNIVERSITY IN ANY WAY. IT DOES NOT CONFER A STANFORD UNIVERSITY GRADE, COURSE CREDIT OR DEGREE, AND IT DOES NOT VERIFY THE IDENTITY OF THE PARTICIPANT." Essentially, your completion certificate is a worthless paper regardless of your efforts. I think if the instructor wants to issue an online certificate, just say "Online course" and that is enough. I really felt being let down after all my efforts to listen and finish all homeworks.

By Bryan Zhao

Feb 08, 2019

Great course. Love the clear instruction and lecture videos.

By Syed Shahid Basha

Feb 07, 2019

Excellent

By clayton wong

Feb 03, 2019

excellent

By 张致远

Feb 02, 2019

很好的课程,只不过作业有点太简单了。

By Wei Yue

Jan 30, 2019

Optional videos are thought-provoking.