Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.7
1,027 ratings
285 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 289 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Juan B A

Mar 02, 2019

I managed to understand very important concepts of statistics used in the writing of articles, my understanding in the reading of scientific texts has improved a lot

By Florence T

Jun 22, 2019

This course has helped me get deeper insights into the basic concepts of statistics. The instructor has explained everything well and clear.

By Ahmad T Q

Jun 13, 2019

Simplified outline course, short videos that target the main questioned point ! Highly recommended.

By Yasser

Jun 13, 2019

Great course. I recommend any medical personnel to take it.

By Sudhir R V

Jun 07, 2019

Excellent course for a beginner

By Kavan

Jun 03, 2019

The course has been immensely helpful! As claimed in the introduction, it really helped me build an intuitive understanding of statistics. Concepts that seemed boring or confusing, were presented in a very simplified, easy to learn form. Great work!

By Felsy P

Jun 03, 2019

Really Useful for a research person. Its been made so simple for easy understanding of the chapters with picture and links related to it.

By Dr V K C

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent course to know about statistics..

By Andrea S D

May 31, 2019

Simple, clear, not time consuming, direct to the point, if you are looking for an insight into clinical statistics!

By Dimitrios P

May 29, 2019

excellent course. definately worth the time spent

By Huda N

May 25, 2019

very simple, easy and informative. really helped me with the concepts i was struggling with.

By Patricia M F F

May 19, 2019

Fiz esse curso porque precisava revisar alguns conceitos de estatistica. O curso explica bem os tipos de estatistica em artigos científicos, sem muitos detalhes de calculos. Tenho certeza que vou voltar algumas vezes ao curso, para rever detalhes. Valeu muito a pena ter feito o curso.

By Rob H

May 19, 2019

Frequently ambiguous, poorly written and lacking in actual content. The peer review process is particularly irritating. I'm curious as to how every person who takes this course has to review the work of 3 other people, is there some kind of backlog?

By Anna-Sophie R

May 16, 2019

Thank you for this perfect course! It was very helpful for understanding papers in research.

By Nimmy K

May 14, 2019

I absolutely loved the course and the way Dr. Klopper simplified the most complex statistical concepts. It's brilliant! I can read papers and analyze data with more clarity now. I highly recommend this course.

By sejo v

May 04, 2019

nice course, easy to understand, especially the video parts excellent in term of point by point

By Mohammed K

Apr 27, 2019

Excellent course, very well explained and tested the individual appropriately. Covered many topics and although not deeply, it allowed you to understand the basics that will allow you to understand what you are reading and will help you to go further on your path.

By ANAMIKA S

Apr 15, 2019

the course is nicely structured both as an introduction and the summary. I absolutely enjoyed it!

By Alan J

Apr 11, 2019

Great introductions to the use of basic statistics

By Jessica M

Apr 04, 2019

Great course. Would plan on taking more courses in the future

By Dominik B

Mar 27, 2019

Well-paced and easy to understand course on an important topic! I especially liked the way the assignements were done - tests were challenging and contained practical information, and peer review assignments let me try analyzing papers by myself. I would surely recommend the course to anyone interested in developing the knowledge about statistics in healthcare!

By Nilay

Mar 24, 2019

I enjoyed and learned at the same time.

By Kelly A

Mar 23, 2019

很系统清晰的课程设置,可惜没能及时完成进度·下次一定要按时完成

By Mohamed S a a

Mar 22, 2019

it is very helpful course can improve your knowledge in research process and also make you practice

By Yelizaveta P

Mar 20, 2019

It was very informative. Made me understand some things deeper. Also motivated to read a bit more.