Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Getting and Cleaning Data, Johns Hopkins University

4.6
5,984 ratings
929 reviews

About this Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

By DH

Feb 02, 2016

Easy, mostly instructive Course. The Assignments and quizzes are quite good, and illustrates the lessons very well.\n\nSee the videos for general presentation, but use the energy on the excersizes.

By BE

Oct 26, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filter by:

891 Reviews

By Kelly Schumann

May 22, 2019

I really liked this course and believe that my work, although seemingly noob-ish, will get much better as I see others works from the peer review and examples noted in the lessons.

By Jean-Philippe Maillard

May 20, 2019

Great course but would benefit of more hands on exercises done by the teacher during the lectures.

By Marina Kingsbury

May 17, 2019

This course was very helpful and easy to follow.

By Laurent risser

May 16, 2019

Good courses, I learned a lot!

By Ловягина Юлия Алексеевна

May 16, 2019

C

By Rok Bohinc

May 15, 2019

The course has valuable content, but there is not enough emphasis on how to create a tidy data set. You kind of learn what a tidy data set is (although the definition is vauge), but you would need to see examples of messy data sets and how to convert it to tidy data set. There is one exercise in swirl called tidyr that addresses that, but it would be nice to have also videos on this topic.

By Mohammad Amir Aghaee

May 13, 2019

There's too much of a jump from the theory to the practice. I had a difficult time understanding what was being asked of me.

By Marcos Aloise

May 12, 2019

Good

By Bushra Waheed

May 03, 2019

Coursera gives me the flexibility I need to take courses on my own time

By Luis Guillermo Neumann Castillo

May 02, 2019

It is a good course. I believe that the final project is challenging but quite extensive and requires dedication to solve it. I would have liked for this course, to establish a formal methodology for data cleansing.