Chevron Left
Back to Pattern Discovery in Data Mining

Pattern Discovery in Data Mining, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.3
192 ratings
40 reviews

About this Course

Learn the general concepts of data mining along with basic methodologies and applications. Then dive into one subfield in data mining: pattern discovery. Learn in-depth concepts, methods, and applications of pattern discovery in data mining. We will also introduce methods for data-driven phrase mining and some interesting applications of pattern discovery. This course provides you the opportunity to learn skills and content to practice and engage in scalable pattern discovery methods on massive transactional data, discuss pattern evaluation measures, and study methods for mining diverse kinds of patterns, sequential patterns, and sub-graph patterns....

Top reviews

By DD

Sep 10, 2017

The first several chapters are very impressive. The last three lessons are a little difficult for first-learners. The illustration are clear and easy to understand.

By GL

Jan 18, 2018

Excellent course. Now I have a big picture about pattern discovery and understand some popular algorithm. Also professor points out the direction for further study.

Filter by:

40 Reviews

By Raj Aryan Singh

Apr 11, 2019

very time consuming

By Devender Bejju

Mar 06, 2019

One star less because of errors in the quiz questions which is not acceptable when it is mandatory to pass

By Sergey

Feb 12, 2019

A good overview of data mining. The course turned out to be quite casual, with many quizzes requiring only knowledge of some definitions which disappeared from my short-lived memory in no time. I suppose it is based on a much more detailed and challenging one taught at the University of Illinois. On the other hand, programming assignments were fun.

By Thomas Gründer

Feb 08, 2019

so hard to understand his english. only reading from slides not really explaining a lot or giving intuitions. Not happy with this course.

By SAURABH KUMAR

Feb 02, 2019

nice

By Luca Baldini

Dec 28, 2018

Very poor.

No programming assignment. No more users in forum. Lessons are just a list of algorithm without a detailed explanation.

By chenjing

Dec 27, 2018

very great!it's very helpful for me! thank you !

By Eric Antoine Scuccimarra

Nov 22, 2018

Very interesting and very clearly explained.

By Felix Kröner

Sep 10, 2018

Very well taught. The teacher has a very good understanding of the level of detail that can be addressed. He uses clear examples and keeps each lesson to the point. The quizzes are short and focussed on what was taught in the course.

By Ian Wang

Aug 16, 2018

compact class which teaches you lots of knowledge without wasting any time, using frequent tests to renew your memory and test your comprehension.

The programming assignment is a little bit challenging though. I would like to post a guide if I figure out how to get 100/100.