Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Database Management Essentials, University of Colorado System

4.6
1,527 ratings
380 reviews

About this Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle or MySQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle or MySQL....

Top reviews

By LL

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course content, very well presented, great slide decks.\n\n(When I hear "DB Management" I think of tablespaces and indexes. The course should be named "Data Modelling Essentials" instead. )

By DD

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filter by:

366 Reviews

By Judith Grime

Feb 22, 2019

Almost exclusively peer marked assessment and although you can learn from peer marking there is no incentive for other people to mark your work properly. Many people just appear to give everything full marks and the comment "great" or "nice" or even just a full stop to meet the comment requirement. When not giving full marks not one person put a comment to explain why they haven't given full marks and if the person marking your work doesn't fully understand the material they are just as likely to mark it correct when it is not as they are not sure about the material.

By Zhu Kexing

Feb 17, 2019

This course provides the essential foundations that a rookie need to master partial SQL and the basic techniques for drawing entity relation diagrams. All in all, it's a good course to embark on your journey for exploring database. However, some part of the video is kind of redundant. There are three points that I would like to mention. First, The peer-evaluation system. In other CS course, a grading system is prepared to give marks on student's assignment, which is more objective; Second, this course provides a link to buy textbook, rather than providing student the access to free online resources; Third, week7 material, upon functional dependency and BCNF are not clearly elaborated.

By Aasim Zafar Khan

Feb 03, 2019

Good for introduction to know about database managemeent system

By Revanth Kota

Feb 03, 2019

It would be great if Querying Practice resources were provided

By saumya

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent

By Nasheena

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent course for anyone interested in learning more about a Database.

By Deepa Narayanan

Jan 23, 2019

Good Experience

By David Nicolás Giraldo Corredor

Jan 23, 2019

Excelente curso

By Shobana Meenatchi a/p Athiappan

Jan 22, 2019

Quite outdated

By Rohan Sethi

Jan 22, 2019

The best course in the history of everything, totally.