Chevron Left
Back to Disability Awareness and Support

Disability Awareness and Support, University of Pittsburgh

4.5
105 ratings
34 reviews

About this Course

The goal of this course is to promote equal opportunity and the full participation of students with disabilities in higher education by helping participants advance their awareness of the meaning of accessibility in education. Participants will gain competence and confidence in working with students by focusing on legislation, universal design, and assistive technologies. Thank you to Abbas (Bobby) Husain Quamar, Graduate Student Researcher in the Department of Rehabilitation Science and Technology at the University of Pittsburgh, for his contributions to the course....

Top reviews

By RR

Sep 19, 2017

I enjoyed this class a lot and it was a good introduction to working with students with disabilities and was a good refresher.

By BC

Jun 21, 2016

Excellent course! I learned so much about all types of disabilities and resources that could be used to help students.

Filter by:

31 Reviews

By Gabriela Bukstein

Jun 20, 2018

The course was excelent!

By MOHAMAD HUSSAM EDDIN ZAYYAT

Jun 11, 2018

Very good course that anybody out of the filed can understand it. It is light and easy to complete. And contain a various resources to enhance you knowledge.

By Salesi Delai

May 20, 2018

I recommend that teachers must take this course as it is very resourceful and informative.

By Alexa Easterling-Walker

May 16, 2018

I have learned a great deal of disability awareness & support within the higher education sector. The insight presented throughout each session, via video presentation, provided the resources, tools, and techniques for in classroom enchancement.

By Prabavathy.M

Apr 30, 2018

very informative

By Mariana Ramírez Gallo

Apr 25, 2018

I think that this course are too interesting and applicable to the reality, I learned about disabilities, Universal Design for Learning, and specific accommodations and tools for that. And also, I was practicing and improve my english.

I recomend it a lot.

By Mohamed Ali Eldeen Mohamed Elsayed

Nov 08, 2017

great

By R.D. Robison

Sep 19, 2017

I enjoyed this class a lot and it was a good introduction to working with students with disabilities and was a good refresher.

By Fábio Junio da Silva Santos

Sep 04, 2017

Very interesting course that allows how faculty deal with disabilities services.

By Catherine M. Day

Aug 20, 2017

This is a really good course in introducing different assistive methods for students with disabilities. Though it is aimed at higher education, I believe that the information can be useful to all teachers.