Chevron Left
Back to Understanding economic policymaking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding economic policymaking by IE Business School

4.8
678 ratings
159 reviews

About the Course

This is the first of the three courses part of the Globalization, Economic Growth and Stability Specialization. This course will employ a non-technical approach to analyze how governments use policy to influence a country's economy. Upon completing the course you should be able to discuss national debts and deficits, examine fiscal and monetary policy and their appropriateness to the situation of an economy, and anticipate the results of fiscal and monetary policies and structural reform on a country. These concepts will give you the tools to develop your own position in many current economic debates, such as fiscal stimulus vs. austerity, the merits of quantitative easing, the need for higher interest rates or the future growth path of many modern economies....

Top reviews

PH

Dec 09, 2015

Excellent overview economics course. Dr. Allard does a fantastic job explaining basic economic concepts and principles so that a novice can better understand this one critical aspect of their world.

KK

Dec 27, 2015

Great insights, I now feel like I am macro-economically literate and I will be using this information when interviewing and now possible grilling certain politicians in my town!\n\nThank you Gayle!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 157 Reviews for Understanding economic policymaking

By Andre D

Feb 15, 2019

Professor Gale Allard is a genius. She made this course so simple and logical that one look forward to learning the content

By Nathaly B

Mar 26, 2019

Great course. I was truly able to understand economic concepts in a way that I hadn't been able to before.

By Victor L d M

Jan 08, 2019

Very clear, adapted to any beginner's level.

By Carl-Johann S

Jul 15, 2018

Very clear first introduction to the mainstream economic viewpoint on global policy making.

By HeeKyoung C

Nov 05, 2018

Informative!

By sanjeev k

Dec 04, 2016

One of the Best Course on understanding economics policy making basics. Really enjoyed the course. Get to learn a lot. Quiz and peer grading assignment are challenging and get to know how to apply the theory in practice.

By Ashutosh D

Oct 14, 2015

Excellent. I really enjoyed watching the lectures

By Md S A

Jan 16, 2016

For understanding economic policy making this course is phenomenal....

By Apostolos G

Nov 22, 2015

Great course from a substantial University and also a great Professor. The course is very well organized and the Professor conveys difficult concepts with an understandable way. You not only will be able to read newspapers and understand what is going on the economy, yet you will get the knowledge to see behind politics. A well educated citizen can make good decision.

By Rasha A

Nov 02, 2015

This course is one of the most well organized and easy to follow and understad, in the same way it is very compitable with the Idea of online learning , it is not boaring not long and right to the point

keep it up

By Zlatina G

Oct 03, 2016

The best macroeconomics class that I have ever had. Very clear explanations and linking all the theory with recent and historical events. I would recommend the course to anyone regardless if you are beginner or have some idea of the macroeconomics concepts.

By makthal b k r

Aug 28, 2017

Professor Allard Explains things in a pellucid way .She's got that gift of gab .Once you successfully finish the course ,policy news are no more alien terms to you. Thanks Much Professor

By Jeremy R M

Dec 15, 2015

This is a great intro to economics. It's a timeless subject that is explained very well by Professor Allard of IE, Madrid. I would recommend this course to anyone.

By Rashad l

Oct 05, 2015

Amazing course, allows for an accumulative learning process very well designed.

By NEHA M

Aug 20, 2017

Easy paced course. I am not from an economics background, yet this course generated enough interest and pushed me through. Would definitely recommend!

By Olalekan A

Aug 23, 2015

Excellent course! Truly remarkable and eye-opening! I loved it!!

By lichao w

Aug 18, 2015

cool course and good quality

By Shoola D

Oct 29, 2017

Wonderful course and professor. It's very non-technical, but allows to follow the logic of policymaking and comprehend the news and reports better. Enjoying it!

By Rafael O

Jun 24, 2018

Extraordinary course, highly recommended !Gayle is a great instructor, one of the best I have ever seen. Thank you very much !

By Pete H

Dec 09, 2015

Excellent overview economics course. Dr. Allard does a fantastic job explaining basic economic concepts and principles so that a novice can better understand this one critical aspect of their world.

By Ahmer J K

Jun 04, 2017

Excellent course

By r f r j

Jun 07, 2016

CONCISE.

By Eugene M

Nov 19, 2015

It's the best economic course that i have ever seen. Gayle Allard is the teacher from God ;)

By Albano S

Aug 16, 2015

Gayle Allard is simply an outstanding teacher.

Strongly reccomended, this is my thirteenth course with Coursera. I've so liked this course the first time, that I'm doing it again. With IE Business I've attended "Critical Perspectives on Management" by Rolf Strom-Olsen, outstanding Too.

By Dogus Y

Mar 11, 2017

One of the few courses I REALLY liked. Strongly recommended!