Chevron Left
Back to The Evolving Universe

The Evolving Universe, Caltech

4.6
385 ratings
81 reviews

About this Course

This is an introductory astronomy survey class that covers our understanding of the physical universe and its major constituents, including planetary systems, stars, galaxies, black holes, quasars, larger structures, and the universe as a whole....

Top reviews

By JH

Jul 16, 2017

Wonderful course! A brief introduction to cosmology but with plenty of material to cover. I recommend researching for papers additionally to the material, but you'll need more time than 4 weeks.

By AH

Oct 19, 2015

Took this professor's course in Galaxies and Cosmology which was for 2nd year physics majors. I think this course is a more general course for non-physics-majors. Excellent course!

Filter by:

80 Reviews

By Kaustubh Rajesh Gupta

Oct 21, 2018

Excellent course for beginners. just one issue: the audio is very soft and is often hard to hear even in full volume. it would be appreciated if the audio could be increased a bit

By Bảo Trương

Sep 07, 2018

Useful for every beginners starting to follow their dream of astrophysics

By Som Dev

Jun 07, 2018

excellent

By Joseph Guarnieri

Jun 06, 2018

Great course overall. Detailed coverage of the subject. Learnt a great deal of information. There is alot of content to cover and hence not much time is spent reinforcing concepts. Also, marks arent recorded in the free version of the course to allow you to track how youre progressing. Waiting to see if notification appears in completions. So far i havent seen a notification of course completion under completions or achievements. This may take some time to appear though.

By Tony DellaRatta

Feb 17, 2018

Excellent course overall. I learned a lot and it sparked my interest to study more about astronomy. The only caveats I have to offer here are that this course is not for total beginners: a student really needs to have a background in basic calculus and physics in order to get anything out of the course. Sometimes it feels like the professor is presenting results at a research conference rather than teaching students with no astronomy background---which can be exciting to watch but it can also be baffling to beginners. Also, I felt the course presented a little too much material for a single session, perhaps the course should be split into two parts? Other than that, highly recommended.

By Barry Greyling

Feb 07, 2018

Superb! Way beyond my expectations. It is wonderful to listen to someone who has such deep knowledge of his area of expertise.

The prof answered so many of the questions that I have had on astronomy. I am amazed at the progress that astronomy has made in the last two decades. It must be fantastic to study at Caltech.

Hope he publishes some more videos in the future.

By Marcos Palazzo

Jan 29, 2018

This course was indeed a very amazing journey from our tinny Earth to the very beginning of the vast Universe.

The super modern Caltech Spacecraft driven by professor S. George Djorgovski seemed to go near the speed of light. Thank you and Congratulation to all the team!!!

Marcos Palazzo (from Buenos Aires, Argentina).

By Manuel Becerra

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! Not only learned the concepts, also learned the math and how we know it, something that does not happen in school. The only problems is that some classes were mush harder than others so it was kinda like a rollercoaster of noledge.

By Richard Kouzes

Jan 24, 2018

Very well done and informative

By Mehmet Keçeci

Jan 03, 2018

Very good