Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Managers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Managers by Emory University

4.4
66 ratings
19 reviews

About the Course

Finance is for “Non-financial Managers” who want to understand key financial principles and apply them in a real-world context. Over the course of the program window, you will work your way through a series of nine modules that move from understanding basic financial principles to applying financial analysis and ratios to drive decisions. In addition, each module is capped with an ending self-evaluation to ensure that you have absorbed the following key learning objectives: + Understand the language associated with finance + Know how and when to use financial terms and analysis techniques + Read and assess company performance using financial statements + Recognize the link between organizational strategy and financial objectives + Use "the numbers" to your best advantage to make more informed decisions...

Top reviews

RG

Jun 29, 2017

Tom Smith is a great professor; he makes the material interesting and understandable. Great course!

CH

Mar 19, 2018

Very clear instructions and a quick recap of corporate finance.

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Managers

By Josué M

Mar 03, 2019

As for the content it was really good and the professor made it very easy to understand but there were a couple of videos where he was working on his excel tables but it wasn't shown on the video so it was kind of difficult to know exactly what he was doing.

By Muath

Mar 02, 2019

good course but there is a needing to improve course material

By Sujata O

Feb 13, 2019

The course was excellent and simple for those of us from the non financial background. However, would appreciate quick responses( atleast within 2 working days) to my activity/queries (which are still awaited).

Thank you.

By Dan I

Jan 29, 2019

Very good course and great instructor.

By Romain P N

Jan 08, 2019

Very good

By Paolo N

Oct 15, 2018

The course started very well, the professor and the teaching was quite clear ( even if the video was really out of focus ). Later on in the course there were several points where the teacher is working on a spreadsheet but we cannot see the spreadsheet at all. I could not see what he was doing or writing since the teacher was writing on a piece of paper that we could not see, so it's hard to follow, and often his screen it is too small / not focused. The course started extremely well, then it seemed the teacher just rushed to finish the course. Luckily I took another course with coursera that was excellent or just based on this course, I would abandon the system.

I also found some errors in the excercizes but I had no idea on how to report them.

By Ricardo B M

Aug 31, 2018

Very practical and useful, to know more about the projects and the costs that this involves in each stage, the return and the planning for each action that should be taken

By Prakash A S

Aug 13, 2018

Very good course that helps you analyse balance sheets and income statements, and to evaluate company performance using various ratios. The course covers topics on investment decision techniques and cost of capital calculations that provides you methods/models to help you take the right decisions while perfoming your duties.

By Ian C M

Aug 10, 2018

very helpful course. allowed me to have a clear vision, and better understand finance from a company´s standpoint

By Pablo R

May 13, 2018

This training was very clear and gave me some tools to understand the financial language

By Bob L

Apr 18, 2018

This course has potential but needs improvement. I'm a Project Manager with a Mechanical Engineering background and took this course to expand a bit. There are a lot of good topics covered but you are essentially on your own. I was working on questions for Week 4 and couldn't figure a few out so I took them to someone in my Finance dept who also couldn't figure out how certain values were being arrived at. We worked backwards from other answers and still couldn't determine how values were being calculated. I submitted my issues to the Forum and received zero response; I had no choice but to proceed. Same thing occurred during Week 5. I eventually got in touch with Coursera support who advised that the teachers are not required to respond to any questions (and I saw that the teacher had been in the Forum), but rather the "community" would respond. I pointed out that there are a few flaws in that thought process, and now that I'm well past those weeks there are zero responses in the Forum. They created a help ticket but I never got a response.

There are several points where the teacher is working on a spreadsheet but you can't see what he's seeing so it's hard to follow, and many times when you can see his screen it is too small / not focused.

I'm not saying I didn't learn because I did; I took copious notes and ended up creating my own spreadsheet for many items which will be useful. The teacher is pleasant to listen to and the pace is good. But for an intro-level class it needs to be reviewed for accuracy and details.

Again, you'll get zero support but you get what you pay for.

By Ravindharan T

Mar 24, 2018

Very useful for non financial managers

By Cor v H

Mar 19, 2018

Very clear instructions and a quick recap of corporate finance.

By Danielle P

Mar 14, 2018

Very educational but easy for working professionals with a busy life.

By Alexis P

Mar 11, 2018

very useful to understand basic financial analysis thank you

By Sameh E M

Mar 08, 2018

Course material started good, then went into numbers and accounting data

Week end content went very fast. Could not benefit from instructor examples since he was all the time looking at his screen and mentioning numbers and calculations without showing them on our screen to follow. So I could not track what he was doing

In lots of Quizes, I could not figure which values to use. Mostly went through logic and trial and error to figure out the answer. Some given equations didn't apply to quizes (like CAPM)

By Leon K

Nov 11, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and the instructor but there were some technical issues with the course. There is a lesson around Week 6 that recorded the instructor talking with the tech guy on how to properly use excel. Should have been edited out from the presentation...

Other than that, I found the course VERY helpful.

By Rich G

Jun 29, 2017

Tom Smith is a great professor; he makes the material interesting and understandable. Great course!

By manoj y

Feb 10, 2017

Amazing course in Finance for managers ,loved it.Specially the professor Tom's teaching style and amazing communication skills and detailing of the concepts.Will recommend every manager to take this course and save hell lot of money in going other colleges and spending huge money.

An experience to cherish!!

Thanks professor Thomas smith !!