Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Fluid Power

Fundamentals of Fluid Power, University of Minnesota

4.8
412 ratings
118 reviews

About this Course

Fluid power has the highest power density of all conventional power-transmission technologies. Learn the benefits and limitations of fluid power, how to analyze fluid power components and circuits, and how to design and simulate fluid power circuits for applications. In this course, you will be introduced to the fundamental principles and analytical modeling of fluid power components, circuits, and systems. You will learn the benefits and limitations of fluid power compared with other power transmission technologies; the operation, use, and symbols of common hydraulic components; how to formulate and analyze models of hydraulic components and circuits; and how to design and predict the performance of fluid power circuits. This course is supported by the National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center for Compact and Efficient Fluid Power, and is endorsed by the National Fluid Power Association, the leading industry trade group in fluid power....

Top reviews

By SS

Sep 25, 2017

Good course with basic review of Fluid mechanics in pipe flow, hydraulics component and application as well as basics in Simscape. More intensive version of this course would be great

By JB

Sep 16, 2017

Teachers were great and made the subject quite interesting. The accumulator portion will aid me in further understanding the operation of fluid equipment at work. Thanks for this!

Filter by:

113 Reviews

By Mike Wigmore

Feb 14, 2019

A great review in basic concepts for those already acquainted with the subject but who need a refresher and for those who are interested in the subject but perhaps have not had education or experience with hydraulics. I found it to very helpful to refresh my memory but also provided new and interesting subjects that were not included in my original studies and have proven helpful in applying to my current work placement. Would highly recommend both the course and any other subjects by the professors who teach it as they clearly have a passion and practical experience with what they preach.

By Gustavo Raush

Jan 23, 2019

This course is an excellent introduction to fluid power issues. There are too many practical examples of the components in-circuit.

By Nandlal Dheela

Jan 10, 2019

Excellent Demonstration and Practical Example.

By Sávio de Arruda Alencar

Jan 09, 2019

The exercises, homeworks and simulations were very useful to understand the Fundamentals. Worth the investment for those how to wants to expand the knowledge about Fluid Power, Industrial and Mobile Hydraulics.

By Ahmed Esam

Jan 07, 2019

I liked it as the professors provided practical applications for each theory and this makes learning easier than conventional way,the content is good but the simulation section would have been better if explained in detail.

What i didn't like is that one of the professors speaks in a very fast way so i have to stop many times to understand what he is talking about!

In my opinion the script wasn't good and there are a lot of mistakes throughout the course.

By Carlos Viloria

Dec 16, 2018

F

I

v

e

s

t

a

r

s

s

p

e

c

I

a

l

l

y

f

o

r

d

o

I

n

g

t

h

e

effort of making the Mathworks software available to us. Real world skills call for real world tools. Thanks!

By Henry Ezedinma

Dec 10, 2018

This is the best online course I have participated in. I want to thank University of Minnesota for providing this wonderful platform for learning more about fluid power.

By Zhouyang Cong

Dec 05, 2018

such a great course

By Subbanna

Nov 12, 2018

Speech is too fast to understand.

By Mark Howell

Oct 30, 2018

Very insightful course