Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Game Theory, Stanford University

4.6
1,869 ratings
379 reviews

About this Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

By WY

May 17, 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

By LY

Dec 30, 2017

Easily the most challenging introductory course I've taken, but definitely worth it. I must say though that I learnt more from failing the quizzes than the lectures or practice questions.

Filter by:

360 Reviews

By 俞佳莉

Dec 05, 2018

Three teachers have different style. This course is not suit for who has no idea about game theory. I think you would better have the basic knowledge before taking this course.

By HRHWDK

Dec 02, 2018

interesting with great learning experience!

By Liang Dong

Nov 30, 2018

Interesting

By Deborah Jutz

Nov 28, 2018

Lectures are hard to understand, audibly not intellectually. The speakers are not well organized, they hand wave over complex ideas and the majority of the math assuming you understand linear algebra and higher. The speakers are not engaging. The subject material - usually exciting and clever - becomes a burden to wade through with these instructors. I didn't make it through the course as I couldn't stay awake for it.

By manuel eduardo valenzuela saavedra

Nov 28, 2018

Un curso maravilloso que te abre a un mundo de nuevos conocimientos y nuevas experiencias de aprendizaje, que fortalecerá el desarrollo de competencias laborales.

By Mehul

Nov 27, 2018

It was a very informative and mentally stimulating course. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and now look at the world in a different light: considering the pros and cons of each decision I make, critically analysing it. Therefore, I take it upon myself to personally recommend this course to all prospective learners or interested persons. All in all this course will make you a more rational and logical thinker, enabling you to understand the intricacies of everyday decision making.

By D B

Nov 26, 2018

Really interesting course - some of the more formula heavy lectures would benefit from examples to accompany the formulae

By

Nov 24, 2018

Its cool

By Robert Schmitt

Nov 21, 2018

Great introduction to game theory, especially for those with some mathematical background. Good examples of using models presented in the course to analyze real-world situations.

By Muhammad Abdur Rafae

Nov 17, 2018

The course is quite conceptual, would be a lot better with some more graphical representation of the equations being used.