Chevron Left
Back to The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future by University of Copenhagen

4.7
291 ratings
87 reviews

About the Course

In 2015, the UN launched the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Adopted by 193 member states, the goals represent an important international step in setting humanity on a trajectory towards sustainable development. Within this course, you will get a historical overview of how sustainability has been understood, as well as a thorough introduction to the SDGs – what they are, how progress can be measured, and how the SDGs are relevant for the management of the global systems supporting humanity. The course will examine how various societal actors are responding to and implementing the SDGs. While all of the SDGs are essential to sustainable development, SDG 13, Climate Action, is usually perceived as the most urgent in terms of the need for a swift implementation on a global scale. Therefore, particular focus is given to this SDG. Through the course, you will gain up-to-date knowledge of the current understanding of human impacts on the Earth at the planetary level. Progress towards establishing global management of human interactions with the climate system within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) is also discussed. The course is designed and taught by Professor Katherine Richardson, who is a member of the 15-person panel appointed by the UN General Secretary in 2016 to write the 2019 Global Sustainable Development Report. In each lecture, Katherine interviews experts who provide insights relevant to the topic at hand....

Top reviews

LC

Aug 08, 2018

Fantastic course! I love the design of the course, especially the engagement with guests with various expertise, which provides a broad picture of SDGs as they are interdisciplinary by nature.

AM

Dec 25, 2018

A well narrated course on Sustainable Development Goals. I will recommend all the present generation Social Development Professionals should take up the course, to understand the SDGs.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 91 Reviews for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

By Jorge M A R

Jun 14, 2019

A very good course however I would like to have more information about How to measure including How to compare progress for each goal

By Ezinma U U

Jun 13, 2019

I learnt a whole lot from this course. I gained new knowledge, learned new terms that would forge my future studies. I know more about the SDGs than I did before this course. Thank you for this!

By Tofail A

Jun 12, 2019

Strongly agree with the instructors. It updated with global need. 2030 with 17 objectives are really important to know for all of us. I am honestly happy with the course.

By KUSHAL S

Jun 10, 2019

Being unable to buy the course certificate i am still satisfied by the push that my teacher created in me towards climate change.

By Alicia S

May 25, 2019

The course was very informative. I have gained new insight on different aspects of the topic. I was encouraged to see the work that is being done with regard to SDGs. I appreciated the mixture of videos and readings. The quizzes were fun too. Excellent!

By Tinotenda C

May 24, 2019

Great intro to an important area

By Johnson B

May 21, 2019

Great content with wonderful exposure to climate change.

By Roberto G A

May 19, 2019

Excellent summary and articulation of the multiple dimensions to keep in mind about SDGs,

By Xóchitl C A R

May 17, 2019

Great option!

By Laura G

May 15, 2019

It was a great course. Thank you

By Juan D R

May 12, 2019

Excellent course to know the political and scientific basis of the SDG´s. Great explanation of the big issues and awesome guests.

By M N R

May 06, 2019

Its really great learning and I love this course. I will not just attend or study but I will start from myself to add value in SDG2030 goal

By Nabanita

May 06, 2019

Wonderful course for having a comprehensive understanding of Sustainable Development. Specially involving specialists and researchers from different academic domains has provided an opportunity to look at the issues from trans-disciplinary perspective, and this is what has really enriched me.

By

May 02, 2019

In a very detail way, the course has discussed the SDGs in a manner never seen before. I like the experts that were interviewed. They are very knowledgeable. The simplied approach means anyone can take this course. The materials are superb.

By Fareed U K

May 02, 2019

one of the best course

By VIBHUTI Y

Apr 29, 2019

A very good course on Sustainable development goals.

By antonio j a m a

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very interessing course because gave to students a global view of the main aspects a global sustainable in the UN framework.

However as a Biochemistry sudent I think that in the SDGs 3, 9, 13, 14, e 15 must approach the contaminants and pollutans (chemical) and the explain the difference and the environmental impact. In the micobiological skill the approach was mentioned by Prof Peter Furu, namely the contamination trough animals.

By Meena A S

Apr 09, 2019

Very good course for beginners

By Pedro C D L C

Apr 09, 2019

Excellent intro course to the SDGs! I was thrilled by the much care taken by the Prof. Katherine Richardson and her team to provide a clear and easy-to-understand -content on a global topic.

I have taken important lessons from this MOOC such as the change in paradigm of Natural resources, the International development of Global sustainable goals, the human condition for reaching the SDGs, and many more. I wish I can apply and outreach the SDGs in my work and in my professional network.

Many thanks for all the material and the effort. It is a great time to live in, not only for what our society has done but also for what a challenge we have in front of us

Cheers for the accomplishment of the SDGs and the Global Agenda 2030.

By Maja D

Mar 24, 2019

Content was well delivered, interesting speakers and reading material.

By Evita, C S Y

Mar 21, 2019

easy to understand.

By Kseniya K

Mar 21, 2019

The course offers a comprehensive first overview of the SDGs, including history, interrelation of different goals, challenges in reaching them etc. The course includes interviews with experts in different fields which is helpful for gaining insights from different points of views and different fields of expertise.

By Aparna B

Mar 21, 2019

the additional reading materials provided and the resources linked were fantastic.

By stephen s

Mar 14, 2019

A great overview and explanation of the SDG's. I particularly liked the interview format. Much preferred over strictly lecture. As well it pointed me towards some outstanding new resources such as doughnut economics.

By Pablo N T T

Mar 10, 2019

Muy valiosa información y disponible en inglés. Enfoque multidisciplinario