Chevron Left
Back to Guitar for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar for Beginners by Berklee College of Music

4.8
1,407 ratings
394 reviews

About the Course

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

Top reviews

RR

Oct 12, 2015

Dear Friends,\n\nI really enjoyed this course, specially the way "Thaddeus Hogarth" teach the course, It is unbelievably strong and master piece.\n\nThanks a lot "Thaddeus Hogarth"\n\nGod bless you

MG

Aug 09, 2017

Amazing course for a beginner and someone who want to pick it up after a long break. I would suggest this for people who has sufficient experience with the instrument. The tutor is really amazing.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 394 Reviews for Guitar for Beginners

By Sujit G

Mar 03, 2019

As an absolute beginner, I am thoroughly enjoying this course. It is really challenging me, but the instructor is doing a phenomenal job explaining everything!!!

By José L C

Feb 14, 2019

Easy to follow. Loved it!!!!

By Otto E S F

Feb 13, 2019

great course, i love it

By Pranav J

Feb 04, 2019

First course I completed on Coursera. I'm very happy with the results.

By Gino E N

Feb 01, 2019

Great explanation, lot of patience in the teaching. Perfect for beginners.

By Arturo F C F

Jun 16, 2019

One thing that really should improve is the thing of having students grading other student's work, it is not the best way to grade because their criteria is based on their knowledge and most of the times it is limited to what they understand from the lessons and it might not be accurate. I had to resubmit my activities because I was miss graded with some nonsense feedback, and I feel I'm wasting my time. It would help a lot if someone who actually knew about the subject, graded the projects.

By Abhigya S

Jun 15, 2019

A nice Starter for beginner guitarists. Thanks Coursera!

By Jordan W

Jun 12, 2019

A great course for beginners that goes through some basic an essential elements of guitar.

By Darsh M

May 30, 2019

Great

By Constantinos Z

May 29, 2019

Very good.

By

May 24, 2019

Excelente profesor

By Suzana T

May 16, 2019

Professor was great but peer review grade from peers, who upload stolen music from Bollywood films, to make me resubmit my project 4 times is ridiculous. Grade based on one peer review, and that from someone who violating copyright uploading something that isn't his, for both assignments, or from another who uploading notes from course not music, or third who rating bad saying I should record louder though there's clearly told not to rate recording quality but playing, without any point where we can request that grade to be checked by professor, Coursera staff, or admin, other than to hit report button for that person's work, and then to again resubmit own, hoping that next peer review will come from someone who didn't come here to make a mockery of this course but to really learn and grade other learner. Neither peers read how to give grade and based on what, nor their own projects are on topic, nor appropriate files, plus uploading copyright and stolen material from films, notes, and totally unrelated songs. Paying for a course to be forced to resubmit repeatedly the same files over grade from people who misusing this place, making it look like a joke, uploading stolen material for own works. I have never seen such poor course ending ever, and though my score is 100% on all other tests, this resubmitting because of some who clearly trying to cheat the system, yet giving bad grades to others, really made me decide never to use Coursera again.

By euniceanntanbelleza

May 14, 2019

I love how smooth the instructor have his discussions. This is really good for beginners like me.

By Chartae R

Apr 30, 2019

Professor Hogarth is the Best!!

I really love the theory and concepts with practical application.

By Harsh S

Apr 14, 2019

The course prepared is too good. Highly satisfied.

By Giulio L V

Apr 08, 2019

Very Good...

By Atharva B

Apr 02, 2019

Thaddeus is a damn cool guy!

By Adrian P

Mar 29, 2019

Un curso EXTRAORDINARIO si quieres aprender paso paso las bases para tocar guitarra.

By Matija O

Mar 12, 2019

Easy, useful and professional!

By Alessio D S

Jan 23, 2019

Great course, cover almost all the key skills for a beginner guitarist, from chords to scales, and even a bit of registration and electric guitar effects!

By José A T G

Jan 17, 2019

Very nice course for beginners and it is a good exercise to remember knowledge for intermediate guitarist.

By Shaikh M P

Jan 15, 2019

After finishing the recording of the final assignments, I was amazed how practice in proper way can help me develop. I was also surprised to see how a melody and strum played together in time cam sound so great. Now I know why there are more then one guitarist in all the great bands.

I was really out of tempo during the beginning of this course. I had a hard time keeping up with the metronome and keep both of my hands busy playing. Positioning the fingers in proper places in time was also a challenge.

Now I can somehow manage my fingers on the instrument a lot better than before. At week six, I finally am playing something that sounds like music rather than some scattered notes played here and there.

I will keep practicing with the current course materials until I am fluent with my instrument while searching more ways to progress.

The course offered by Berklee is well organized, to the point and contains precise materials. The interface offered by Coursera is the best with tons of features. This is the best so far I have seen. Everything is well organized and easy to switch between weeks, topics and many more.

Trust me you will enjoy your time here and the payback is great!

By Новосад Д

Jan 14, 2019

Отличный курс. Советую всем.

Great course. I advise everyone.

By Sergio D

Jan 12, 2019

Excellent even if you are not a beginner, helps you clarify the basis

By ZABHA S I

Jan 08, 2019

this is my favorite teacher...