Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for HSK 3 PART I

Chinese for HSK 3 PART I, Peking University

4.7
120 ratings
41 reviews

About this Course

大家好!Hi, everyone, welcome to join our Chinese for HSK Level 3 course. This is CHEN Li and LU Yun, and we are very happy to meet you here! Chinese for HSK 3 is a 10-week course. It consists of two parts: Part I, which is a 6-week program, covers vocabulary and grammar delivered mainly through dialogues and passages; Part II takes 4 weeks to complete and the foci are exercises and testing strategies. Chinese for HSK 3 aims at the third level of HSK. It is the counterpart of Level 3 of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages and the B1 Level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. Chinese for HSK 3 Part I includes:  30 video lectures with dialogue role plays by PKU students;  More than 300 new words on the basis of HSK 1 and HSK 2;  More than 60 new grammar points;  Review the words you have learnt in HSK 1 and HSK 2 courses.  New words and texts via audio;  Quizzes for each lesson and HSK test papers; At the end of the course, you will be able to communicate in Chinese at a basic level in your daily, academic and professional lives. You can manage most communication in Chinese when travelling in China. Specifically, you will master certain grammar knowledge containing fundamental sentence structure and usage like sentences with “把”, sentences with “被”(passive voice), comparative sentences and rhetorical questions. Moreover, you will master the meaning of fixed structure and usage of sentences like “….for sb…”(对…来说), “increasingly…” (越来越), etc. It does not matter if you complete HSK Level 1-2 or not, as long as you have obtained basic Chinese language competency. Hope you enjoy our Part I course and glad to see you in our next Part II course. CHEN Li, LU Yun and Chinese for HSK Level 3 team....

Top reviews

By KK

May 09, 2018

Thank you Peking University for making these--I've been looking for online classes! Any chance you will make an HSK 5 Series?\n\n谢谢,\n\n李恳

By HB

Mar 27, 2018

I learn so many things from this course.\n\nThank you very much Coursera and Peking University team for offering such an amazing course.

Filter by:

41 Reviews

By Morgan Ho

Nov 27, 2018

This was a good course, but for someone who is very serious about Chinese is does require a lot of work to learn the vocabulary each week. However, I am very satisfied with the course. I feel prepared to take the HSK level 3 exam.

By Frank De corte

Nov 09, 2018

Good practice, well organised.

By Mushayyed Muhammad Ali Khan

Sep 30, 2018

Its too tough.

By Charity Ann Son

Sep 08, 2018

The course structure is perfect for me, not too much and not too little.

By Tim Schoenharl

Sep 05, 2018

This course has a lot of vocabulary and is very challenging. Content is relevant to HSK 3 exam and the course is well designed overall.

By David Brent

Aug 20, 2018

I am relatively new Chinese learner. I have completed the HSK I and II courses. This is a really good course and takes it to the next level (for someone of my Chinese language experience). It is intense. There is a lot of new vocabulary, about to new words per lesson. That's 50 new words per week. Don't relax and rely on pinyin folks. There is a little surprise in week 7 we you do the exam. There is no English and no pinyin its all characters for the reading and the listening answers. It was extremely challenging for me. But wow! What a great experience. I highly recommend this course

By Tim Cooper

Jul 17, 2018

I’m struggling with this Coursera HSK3 programme because the quality is really not good.

Frankly, after a lot of trying, I give up on this Coursera HSK3 programme.

I’ve done HSK 2, all 5 Pimsleur levels and spent time in 8 cities in China.

Quality is not great:

The Transcript is not always available

The explanations are not sufficient/ non existent to understand the grammar.

The English spoken is strange and regularly is not great English, e.g. at the end of each video introducing vocabulary she, says “Lets learn some words more”. This is not a well polished course worthy of being on Coursera.

The English used in translations are also sometimes strange or even don’t really make sense. For a course I’m paying for, I do expect that the creators of this course would at least get a natural English speaker to review and contribute. This course feels sloppy and it doesn’t appear that sufficient effort has been put into making it.

The ‘guest videos’ have sound sometimes at different level compared to the rest of the training videos. I miss the start of the speaking in the video as I’m trying to adjust the volume.

Even the presentation slide is not quite level/ straight on screen

I’ve done several other Coursera programmes in different knowledge domains and the standard of this course is the worst by far.

The presenters permanent fixed grin is strange and feels insincere and a bit disturbing. The style of tilting her head back means that she is talking down her nose to me as if I’m a little child who knows nothing. Her relatively static delivery is unengaging to the point of dullness. Her voice dynamics are limited which only further distances me.

The approach is very old-school, dull and not effective at putting the info into memory

Just “repeat after me” vocabulary with one or two limited examples of only a few of the total vocab list

The volume of material per week is enormous. For a part-time course, this is ridiculous. I’ve done several other Coursera programmes in different knowledge domains and none just throw masses of material at you like this. I know that I’m a particularly bad student, but it took me a month to do one week’s material.

The tests are useful, probably the most useful part.

Recommendations

Start by studying the Coursera “Learning how to Learn” course! Apply all these basic and well-known ideas, including spaced repetition, chunking, etc. Teaching does not equal learning: you as the teachers are responsible for making my learning successful.

Fix the basic mistakes: some translations are just wrong, ensure that the English you use is correct (at minimum, a natural English speaker needs to thoroughly review everything), e.g. “感冒的时候,你吃不吃感冒药?Gǎnmào de shíhou,nǐchībuchīɡǎnmào yào? Do you have taken cold medicine when you caught a cold?” from Discussion Prompt, Lesson 3

Make the HSK3 course much more interactive: keep the tests, add many other forms of interaction, especially ones that use new vocabulary in real sentences,

Introduce a way to assess student’s ability to pronounce words and phrases, like language learning Apps such as Babel

At the start of the course, provide an overview that shows how the total of HSK3 material will be covered, then refer to this each week to show what has been achieved. I am not very clear what sort of progress I am making on learning the HSK3 material, so am lost, confused and demotivated.

Put a focus on how to learn characters.

Characters are not required knowledge in HSK1 or HSK2, so are the key new dimension in HSK3. What are effective strategies for learning characters? Do I need to recognize them (so I can read and can type Pinyin to convert into hanzi) or take this further and be able to hand-write them?

How can you help me get good at taking the HSK exams? What guidance, what tips, what practice routines?

Use a presenter that is more dynamic and not scaring me with a permanent grin while looking down her nose at me. See how some of the good Coursera presenters use body language and voice.

You just give examples of Separable Words without explaining how it works or what the Chinese means! What is 跳跳舞?

By Arifah Ahmad Rashidi

Jun 29, 2018

thank you for the knowledge

By Seunggyu Byeon

Jun 20, 2018

Thank you, Ms. CHEN and MS. LU!! I’ve got 295 points out of 300!!

By Joao Francescoly

May 16, 2018

Love it, the teacher is really good :D and the practice test was very useful !