Chevron Left
Back to Inferential Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inferential Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.4
313 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

Inferential statistics are concerned with making inferences based on relations found in the sample, to relations in the population. Inferential statistics help us decide, for example, whether the differences between groups that we see in our data are strong enough to provide support for our hypothesis that group differences exist in general, in the entire population. We will start by considering the basic principles of significance testing: the sampling and test statistic distribution, p-value, significance level, power and type I and type II errors. Then we will consider a large number of statistical tests and techniques that help us make inferences for different types of data and different types of research designs. For each individual statistical test we will consider how it works, for what data and design it is appropriate and how results should be interpreted. You will also learn how to perform these tests using freely available software. For those who are already familiar with statistical testing: We will look at z-tests for 1 and 2 proportions, McNemar's test for dependent proportions, t-tests for 1 mean (paired differences) and 2 means, the Chi-square test for independence, Fisher’s exact test, simple regression (linear and exponential) and multiple regression (linear and logistic), one way and factorial analysis of variance, and non-parametric tests (Wilcoxon, Kruskal-Wallis, sign test, signed-rank test, runs test)....

Top reviews

ND

Feb 13, 2018

Incredibly dense (which they warn you about) so the lecutres fly over so much important info it's hard to keep track of even with a strong focus. A very good overview though.

YZ

Apr 15, 2016

I understood inferential statistics better with this course. Both teachers made the concepts clear for me. The R homework helps me review inferential statistics methods.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 82 Reviews for Inferential Statistics

By Ute T

Mar 13, 2019

Week 1 to Week 5 were well explained, however the quality of the videos declined steadily to the end of the module. Many inconsistencies between video - audio - written text.

Most upsetting was quality of Week 6. In comparison to the parametric statistic parts which were super well organised, structured in assumption - hypothesis - test statistic and anything else important, the Week 6 was terribly confusing. It did not contain the most important formulas and explanations (I was researching online on other fora to reply to the quizz). I suggest a full review of non-parametric statistics, as it is an important chapter for many social scientists working with smaller sample research. I really think this has been neglected over the previous parts.

Also in comparison to Module of Basic Statistics, this one has not had a great quizz section. There are no hints of what might have gone wrong when answers are wrong, so the learning effect is 0 if we get answers wrong.

By ahmed s a

Jul 26, 2016

Thanks

By Do H L

Sep 03, 2016

This course is awesome on so many levels. This is the best inferential statistics course I've come across. Here's why:

*** The slides are beautiful and visually appealing, making following the rigorous content easier to digest.

*** Instructors are captivating and articulate, the explanations are clear and concise.

*** The assignments are very very tough, making the course incredibly challenging, but worth it. Honestly, I don't get why people give 1 star because the course is tough. This should be a huge plus.

It was a real challenge getting 100% for everything. For every quiz, I attempted 2 - 3 times to get 100%. The challenge is worth it. I couldn't thank you enough for this course. You explain tough statistical concepts like the difference between prediction intervals and confidence intervals really well. Also, I think this course has the best teaching for Analysis of Variance (I have taken a few other statistics moocs). Also, your course helped me appreciate the meaning of R-squared, standard errors, confidence intervals in a very intuitive fashion. There are many other new things I've learnt from your course, some of them I thought I knew, but you helped me to either "Aha" or understand them more deeply.

Before this course, most of the time statistics to me is like plug-and-play using procedures and and softwares. But now, I can understand the concepts and what the calculations really mean.

Thank you for creating quizzes that make us really do step-by-step calculations and not just plug data into equations to get results like so many other statistics moocs do.

The pedagogy is really great. Sometimes quizzes can be frustrating because I need to read very carefully into the meaning of the questions and all the options. However, the learning experience is really worth it.

Again, thank you for an amazing course! This is rare stuff!

It is without a doubt, a lot of passion and effort has been put into this course and this series.

By gerardo r g

Dec 04, 2018

This course is very helpful for people intereted in quantitative research

By Arman B K

Nov 13, 2018

Completing this course requires perseverence but it is 100% worth it. There's a lot of material covered and the videos simply provide signposts for the topics but one doesn't learn statistics by watching videos. The real learning takes place during quizzes and assignments. The final exam is time consuming and tough and students need to truly master the material to earn a high grade.

By Muhammad A R

Dec 28, 2018

loved the way, you carried a statistics virgin like through the course

By norbert b

Aug 07, 2018

wonderful

By Zainab H

Oct 25, 2018

This course was relatively difficult for my slow brain. I learned A LOT. but I still feel the need for doing this course one more time

By Benjamin H

Jul 27, 2018

Wow! This course was challenging!

By EDILSON S S O J

May 09, 2016

Quite difficult but amazing!

By Victor C

Mar 06, 2016

great course

By Md Y A

Jan 18, 2018

I have learned a lot from this course. Thanks

By Santanu G

Jun 07, 2017

Excellent Course for Inferential Statistics and Regression Analysis

By Abdirahman M

Feb 16, 2018

Very interesting but challenging course in Inferential Statistics.

By Laurenz R

Oct 22, 2017

Very good explanation of the given topics!

By Pankaj A

Jul 04, 2017

Hi, I enjoyed really well and this very good course on Inferential Statistics. My experience was really good. Thank you for providing the course for free!

By Vikram S

Jan 28, 2017

One of the better Statistical Inference courses out there.

By Gregorio A A P

Jul 07, 2017

Un super curso , excelente y felicitaciones por vuestro gran trabajo, pero es muy triste no poder disfrutar al 100% un curso de esta calidad traducido en el idioma español, les pido por favor si fueran tan gentiles de acceder a esta humilde petición, gracias por anticipado y nuevamente felicitaciones.

By Ivan R P

May 27, 2016

Very carefully presented and organized introductory course. Well put R support.

By Roberta d R B

Dec 28, 2016

Wonderfully useful. It has helped me to run my research analysis.

By Ayedh N

Mar 31, 2016

Easy to understand.

By Humberto C C

Apr 18, 2016

Excellent course, practical, visual understanding of the concepts and beautifully illustrated of all concepts, definitions and examples. A course that you most take to understand inferential statistics with R as a compliment.

Congratulations to the whole staff that design, produce and teach this course, fantastic !!!!

By Tran T V

Jun 06, 2018

I love it. Thank you very much!

By DIANA C S

Mar 27, 2017

Excellent course. Great examples and videos. It is challenging but totally worthy.

By Solomon A

Oct 05, 2017

Great course. Very deep and practical.