Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2) by Rice University

4.9
896 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 2 of this course, we will introduce more elements of programming (such as list, dictionaries, and loops) and then use these elements to create games such as Blackjack. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Asteroids". Upon completing this course, you will be able to write small, but interesting Python programs. The next course in the specialization will begin to introduce a more principled approach to writing programs and solving computational problems that will allow you to write larger and more complex programs....

Top reviews

IS

Jun 23, 2016

This course is the best course I have ever taken. It covers all the topics very well. And importantly I love the treat at the end of every week. The ultimate showdown between the two best instructors.

NA

Jun 18, 2016

lectures were pretty clear, and the game projects were a very smart way to keep learning fun and challenging. Code clinics were very useful and gave me the push I needed to do everything on myown.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 227 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

By Mikey L

Dec 13, 2018

So good I'm doing Principles of Computing too.

By sajad a

Dec 18, 2018

Great course .Teachers are awesome and fun .Nice course material .Go get it attitude habit cultivation.No spoon feeding.

By Rajan P

Dec 28, 2018

one of best online tutorial

By Scott P

Jan 13, 2019

Fun class! This was the first course I had taken to learn Python. It is an excellent introduction to programming. It covers event handlers, GUI design, Object Oriented Programming and more. Yes, it is really fun. The material and tools are organized and polished.

By Lien C

Jan 15, 2019

Learnt a lot about programming and created some amazing mini games! All thanks to the AMAZING teachers!

By Maksim U

Jan 03, 2019

Everything was already said as the course is going for quite a long time. It really is great. Having absolutely zero programming experience before the first course of the specialization, some assignments and quizzes were tough yet solvable in the end. I definitely recommend the course to anyone willing to make their first steps into programming.

By Ricardo L

Jan 03, 2019

Awesome course. A good way to remember some basic aspects of Python, and to learn new things by developing fun games. I totally recommend it.

By Jeffery M

Feb 19, 2019

great course

By Max B

Feb 17, 2019

Great follow-up to part 1, you don't want to miss the fun projects in part 2. I haven't had much experience from building games and using GUIs, and really learned a lot from this course. Also, CodeSkulptor is great together with the fun and easy-going lectures. Highly recommended!

By Mathieu D

Feb 19, 2019

Had a lot of fun with the final project. The instructors were engaging and did a great job at keeping the lessons accessible to everyone. If you have experience programming in general the course doesn't take too long to complete.

By Kelly Q

Feb 20, 2019

It's quite interesting and completing every mini project will give me great sense of achivements. But I think it can be more challenging if the templates were less detailed.

By Kate W

Mar 20, 2019

The instructors and mentors are great. I never thought I'd be able to do this stuff, but they make it very understandable and, dare I say it, fun. Thank you to the Rice U. faculty and staff for creating a great MOOC.

By Chenyang J

Jan 30, 2019

a very good course with several fun projects

By Mateusz P

Feb 08, 2019

Great course!

By Omais R K

Feb 10, 2019

Great course for an introduction to programming and Python. With projects to work on every week, you learn the material well.

By Rudy H

Jan 31, 2019

It is a great course, highly recommended, learn so much. Instructors are first class, they are fun to learn from.

By tg2209@us.att.com

Feb 12, 2019

Very well designed course which teaches the concepts in a fun manner.

By Filip Z

Apr 02, 2019

Great course. New concepts are introduced in a undestandable manner. The miniprojects and quizzes are fun and interesting. They can all be solved by paying attention to the class videos and materials, however, they still leave some room for students to figure out stuff on their own. The teachers are great and have a very friendly, fun approach. You can see they put a lot of thought into how to explain complex topics like object oriented programming so that students do not only learn the syntax, but really understand the idea behind those concepts. Some basic highschool math is needed but the teachers explain all of it.

By Thomas P

Apr 03, 2019

A wonderfully amusing and educational experience.

By caterina w

Apr 02, 2019

These guys are Fantastic - I learnt a huge amount from this module, and I'm really grateful for the 'audit access'. The assignments were lots of fun, and the presenters had great charisma on screen - even Mr Wong :) Thank you

By Sambhav J

Apr 04, 2019

Great Course

By Bhupendra S G

Apr 06, 2019

Professors are very amazing and spirited. I felt never bored, and I recommend to everyone who is starting in Python. This is very fun to learn by creating games or apps instead of only QnA base learning.

By Daniel W

Mar 06, 2019

Learned a lot and had fun. Great class!

By Chris G

Mar 10, 2019

Fantastic course, pleasantly surprised at top quality lessons and you can really see that the instructors love to teach the course also. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning coding.

By SOURAV M

Jul 15, 2018

Great course