Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,572 ratings
256 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

MR

Jun 13, 2016

Very good introductory course. It's a lot of material to cover for a newbie, but if you have some background, you will find you progress pretty quickly. Enjoyable, engaging, fun and useful.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 259 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By Aydolun

Jul 17, 2017

It is a great introduction course if you really don't know anything about the field. But if you think you have got the basics down, that means this course will be too easy for you.

By Robert D

Jun 18, 2019

Good class but incredibly basic. Needs to go a bit more in depth. Feels rushed.

By Jacob K

Jun 16, 2019

It seemed a little too easy, especially for the timeline given. Seemed like there should have been more information, or have gone more in-depth

By Dina A M A

Jun 16, 2019

good

By Siwakorn P

Jun 14, 2019

Very good introduction.

By May K

Jun 11, 2019

Moves too fast, but excellent content and information. Very engaging!

By Félix D

Jun 09, 2019

I found the course to be very clear and informative. I believe the molecular biology aspect was easy enough for someone without a background in biology or biochemistry to understand. Also, the computer science and statistical aspects were also explained in a clear way.

By Talha I

May 10, 2019

This is my first course in Genomic Technologies (and one I completed overall). I was taking this course bit lightly for being the introductory/basic course but I have learnt a number of new things: Introduction to some stats terms I overlooked/haven't learnt before like p-test and confounders, the incredible example of data-counterfeiting in the academia and how PCR and next-gen sequencing technologies work. Although I couldn't learn in depth, which is obvious since its first of the 8 course specialization, so I am anxious to take the next course - this specialization is looking very exciting.

By Dustin

May 09, 2019

A nice introduction and the project is good for the beginners like me to start off the genomic tech readings.

By Omar R

May 01, 2019

As a clinical scientist, the course gives you a taste of the field in a way that you have not thought of before. The final project was a bit challenging and daunting!

Overall, the professors presented the material in a way that is easy to understand and follow up with.

By Aditi B

Apr 29, 2019

It was highly informative, engaging and as this is a field that I wish to pursue in the future, it was a treat for me. Thank you.

By Heather R

Apr 18, 2019

Wish it was a bit more challenging for those of us in scientific research, but I understand the need to be broadly applicable. Enjoyed it and learned a lot.

By Israa S S

Mar 30, 2019

Great way of delivering information.

By Hans R

Mar 24, 2019

Gained good knowledge

By Eric Y L

Mar 22, 2019

Quite good explanation of molecular biology and statistics. Hope the narrator can lower down the speed, since it is a little tough for a non-native English speaker to catch-up with it (Though the pronunciation is very clear)

By Deleted A

Mar 01, 2019

Basic course

By negar m

Feb 06, 2019

Good intro for people who don't have any background, a little too simple for people who already work in this criteria or have knowledge about

By Parth R J

Feb 03, 2019

great

By Marek B

Jan 23, 2019

Pretty basic introduction. Not bad, not outstanding, just average: 3 stars.

By sijia X

Jan 16, 2019

Very informative.

By Lukas J

Jan 08, 2019

A good basic overview of the subject. Can be skipped if you have some biology background as many of these topics are covered during a standard sequence.

By Carlos H L d M

Dec 25, 2018

Amazing

By Deleted A

Dec 20, 2018

This course is an excellent one with appropriate difficulties for starters who want to get a thorough understanding of the genomic technologies.

By Silvana N

Dec 16, 2018

Classes were perfect!

By Yafremau N

Dec 13, 2018

It is a good introduction course for people how are getting into genomics or bioinformatics, would recommend for those who are starting in this field, or want to update their information on new technological advancements.