Chevron Left
Back to Julia Scientific Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Julia Scientific Programming by University of Cape Town

4.5
177 ratings
60 reviews

About the Course

This four-module course introduces users to Julia as a first language. Julia is a high-level, high-performance dynamic programming language developed specifically for scientific computing. This language will be particularly useful for applications in physics, chemistry, astronomy, engineering, data science, bioinformatics and many more. As open source software, you will always have it available throughout your working life. It can also be used from the command line, program files or a new type of interface known as a Jupyter notebook (which is freely available as a service from JuliaBox.com). Julia is designed to address the requirements of high-performance numerical and scientific computing while also being effective for general-purpose programming. You will be able to access all the available processors and memory, scrape data from anywhere on the web, and have it always accessible through any device you care to use as long as it has a browser. Join us to discover new computing possibilities. Let's get started on learning Julia. By the end of the course you will be able to: - Programme using the Julia language by practising through assignments - Write your own simple Julia programs from scratch - Understand the advantages and capacities of Julia as a computing language - Work in Jupyter notebooks using the Julia language - Use various Julia packages such as Plots, DataFrames and Stats The course is delivered through video lectures, on-screen demonstrations, quizzes and practical peer-reviewed projects designed to give you an opportunity to work with the packages....

Top reviews

SP

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.

NP

Aug 06, 2017

It was very exciting. I widen further, my computing horizons\n\nHope, that the university will launch in the near future, a more advanced course of "Julia Scientific Programming"

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 56 Reviews for Julia Scientific Programming

By Paul F G

Jan 28, 2019

Great course, well taught and thorough. I would only add that it needs to be updated from the version in the course (0.4.6) to the latest, full version of Julia, e.g. (1.x). I would have given 5 stars but for that fact.

By A. C T

Dec 30, 2018

Good pace, materials and choices of problem sets.

By Ian W

Apr 09, 2019

Very well designed and organized. Had a lot of fun learning with this course!

By Ananda N

Nov 21, 2017

Wonderful course to know the basics of Julia progamming

By k s k t

Oct 27, 2016

Very good way to start learning julia

By MARIO Z A

May 09, 2018

Un excelente curso para iniciarse en la programación cientifica.

By Bradley T D

Dec 16, 2016

Great course!

By Robin R

Feb 12, 2017

Very good Intro to Julia with interesting practice problems.

By Varun R

Jan 14, 2017

I wasn't completely familiar with types in Julia and this course helped me understand a very important aspect of Julia programming. Now, I feel I have a much better understanding of how Julia works. The professors were amazing and the course was extremely crisp and fun. I would like to extend them my warm wishes and would want to know if an advanced level of Julia Programming course could be planned in the future

By Shlok M

Aug 26, 2017

Liked the Honors course content. A good introduction to Julia. Recommended to all freshers in coding, especially for those who are pursuing courses in numerical techniques. You'll be able to write very intractable and efficient codes.

By Braulio U A A

Oct 24, 2016

I learn a lot about Julia and many packages that are availables.

By Francois C

May 11, 2018

Nice introduction to Julia.

By Sergio-Feliciano M

Sep 05, 2017

This is a great course to begin Julia programming!

By Keith W

Mar 17, 2017

A clear and well presented course.

Suitable for newcomers and relatively new users of Julia. The course notes (Jupyter notebooks) are a useful reference after the course.

By Uriel A A R

Mar 29, 2017

Great introduction to Julia and programming

By Mark S

Nov 22, 2017

The course was excellent. Thank you for all the work that has gone into this. I recommend it for anyone who wishes to start using Julia or is simply curious about Julia.

By 刘晶

Jan 16, 2018

It's a very good course for beginners of Julia, though I have learned Julia for more than one year, I still learned many useful things in this course. Julia is so beautiful, wonderful and powerful, and two honorable professors have deep insight about it, I hope there are more and more people will learn it through this course and make the world better.

By Antonio P

May 07, 2018

Great course!

By Mark L

Aug 27, 2017

This is an excellent introduction to the Julia language. My only complaint is that the course was written when Julia 0.4.6 was the standard, so when I used the current Julia 0.6.0 some of the instructor-provided code contained deprecated functions, or did not run at all, requiring a trip to the Julia API to find the currently-used syntax. But this course is still very good in spite of the dated code.

By Shaun C

Apr 04, 2017

Julia is a great language to learn. It is fast! Julia is my future core language.

By Roberto P G J

May 06, 2017

Very good for beginner

By Arshpreet s

Nov 15, 2017

Amazing Explanation, in-Depth and concise, Well taught course, Loved the Julia Programming and it's inbuilt functions.

By 林胜义

Dec 07, 2017

本来对Julia一无所知,现在可以用Juila来一些数据处理,实现自己的一些想法,处理一些繁杂的数据,真正学到了一项技能

By Ηλίας Τ

Nov 17, 2016

This course was very interesting and well planned. The course material is clear and comprehensive. As for the instructors, they demonstrated experience and deep knowledge in Julia ana statistical software, proving their success for this course. I am certainly going to make Julia one of my main tools.

By Svyatoslav P

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.