Chevron Left
Back to Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom by University of California, Irvine

4.5
158 ratings
44 reviews

About the Course

Emerging technologies are quickly gaining momentum in the field of virtual K-12 instruction. In this course, we will explore how the latest trends in the use of technology affect student learning and engagement. What innovative learning spaces and tools are available to instructors? How can instructors best utilize free and open resources to more deeply engage students in their learning? What impact can the use of emerging technologies have on student retention and performance? We will discuss the possibilities and challenges of using technology in fully online environments, although many of the ideas can be applied to blended and traditional environments as well. Learners will compare and contrast tools for use in K-12 virtual instruction, as well as examine best practices for implementing and managing these tools. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand the role of technology in the distribution of content, the facilitation of collaborative activities, and the assessment of students, courses, and organizations. 2. Identify and evaluate existing and emerging technologies for their value in virtual course instruction and curriculum development. 3. Design and assess a learning activity that utilizes social learning tools. 4. Design and assess a learning activity or curricular program that uses game-based strategies and/or badges to deepen student engagement in virtual courses. 5. Research, critically evaluate, and employ open content in virtual education. 6. Debate the role of MOOCs in virtual K-12 education....

Top reviews

NK

Nov 08, 2016

Unlike the previous course in the Virtual Teacher Specialization, this course was pretty well organized, the instructor was articulate and well-versed in the subject she is teaching.

LS

Nov 01, 2016

Enjoy this course. The instructor is good and clear. She provided interesting insight into the emerging trend of technologies suitable for me to try out in my classes.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 41 Reviews for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

By Magali G D

Apr 02, 2019

Last update was in 2015, G+ group does not work anymore, forums do not exist anymore. Very intesting subject poorly executed: lectures only. I was disappointed but did it completely. At least 60% still works.

By Robert B S M

Mar 27, 2019

Great course, priceless resources...thanks.

By Valentina A R C

Mar 26, 2019

I loved how everything that was taught was given with examples to use in different ways, very practical!

By Catherine B

Mar 20, 2019

This course was very informative and allowed me to see how and what can be done in the classroom that best meets the needs of the students in terms of technology.

By ravi c

Mar 12, 2019

good hands on course, assignment part is quite well thought one. which helps to understand the process well.

By July A B M

Jan 28, 2019

Thank you for all this knowledge that you share and allow us to learn.

By Renee A

Jan 25, 2019

Some of the technology mentioned in this course is outdated, however this course is generally solid.

By Sheetal P

Dec 03, 2018

this course is mainly completely theoretical. I wish the instructor should some practical training as well, where the learners would be asked to share their experiences after finishing a task. For example, what they find different in twitter after using Facebook, or given a situation, which tool would they recommend over the other and why, etc. Even the assignments could be more on choosing a right tool, rather than recall level questions.

By Tracey J K

Oct 27, 2018

Excellent videos and engaging material. Some of the discussions of augmented reality and similar technologies is already somewhat out of date. The forums are repeatedly referenced, but were never available as I moved through the course.

By Abdullah H S

Oct 21, 2018

it is a great course

thanks a lot.

By Alexey K

Jun 29, 2018

Absolutely brilliant course! Invigorating lecturer, tons of useful resources, helpful and always unexpected strategies one could utilize on their own lessons. Thank you, that was a remarkable experience!

By Cristina M C M

Apr 02, 2018

Really good course, even if you are not a k12 professor, you can apply this knowledge in a higher education environment.

By Rita M

Mar 02, 2018

Mostly theoretical/background information about the use of tech in the classroom.

By Bishwaksen B

Feb 20, 2018

Very well presented course, really helped me

By Juan H B S

Feb 06, 2018

Pretty good contents and resources to apply in a virtual classroom. The teacher is great!

By Marcos V M d S

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed every week. The lessons are well structured and the explanations are clear. Instructions are easy to understand, and the instructor was superb. Thank you to our instructor Mrs. Melissa Joell Loble.

By Catalina

Sep 28, 2017

I found really interesting ideas to apply in class.

By Krzysztof F

Jul 15, 2017

Great course, very engaging with an amazing teacher!

By Laurel B

May 29, 2017

This course provided so many useful ideas and methods for using technology to teach various subjects online. I definitely recommend it!

By Jennifer K

May 24, 2017

I especially enjoy Melissa and Jesse's personalities and the familial feeling their continued interviews provide!

By Vickie B

May 18, 2017

Great info. Pretty fast-paced, which worked well with my schedule. Finished a week early, even!

By Jayrome N

Apr 12, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course.

By Tan C J B

Mar 06, 2017

G

By Abdelatif A

Feb 16, 2017

I was amazed by the depth of the subject. The instructor did a great job simplifying the broad topics and pointing to what is most important. A five stars for the quality of the content and the delivery approach.

By Dayna A

Feb 10, 2017

A very thorough look at how technology can be incorporated into a blended learning or completely virtual learning environment.