Chevron Left
Back to The Kennedy Half Century

The Kennedy Half Century, University of Virginia

4.6
292 ratings
75 reviews

About this Course

When John F. Kennedy entered the presidential limousine at Love Field in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963, he began his ride into history. That journey continues even today and we call it the Kennedy legacy. This course will explore the Presidency, assassination, and lasting legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Students will learn how JFK’s life, administration, and tragic death have influenced the general public, the media, and each of the nine U.S. presidents who followed. Understanding the Kennedy legacy and being able to identify elements of his legacy within the context of modern politics helps understand many of the vexing problems that developed over the last half century as well as many of the challenges that confront us today. November 22, 1963 was so powerful a moment that in the fifty years since the assassination, every U.S. President that followed JFK has used Kennedy’s words and actions in an effort to craft their own political image. Why does Kennedy’s influence persist, and will it continue? What are the effects? We’ll address these questions and more as we explore The Kennedy Half Century. Follow on Twitter: @JFKclass....

Top reviews

By JN

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

By KS

Oct 22, 2015

I really loved this class! Professor Sabato taught this class so eloquently and so well. I have studied the JFK Presidency and Assassination for years, and I loved learning more from this course.

Filter by:

75 Reviews

By Beth Zalcman

Feb 26, 2019

Loved this course. Would have appreciated a little less plugging of the professor's book though

By John Clouthier

Feb 25, 2019

Extremely informative course. I especially liked the fact that it showed JFK in a humanistic and real light rather than how he was often romanticized by the general public. I also liked that LBJ was talked about in some positive light, illustrating that he was the forerunner to many of the policies set up by JFK.

Very informative and very educational and entertaining.

J.C

By Angelo Kooijman

Feb 09, 2019

Loved the course! A must of everyone who would like to learn about the US President Kennedy!

By Michelle Mattei

Jan 01, 2019

A fairly well rounded course on JFK and his legacy. Some new information interwoven with some traditional history on JFK. Overall an interesting course.

By

Dec 29, 2018

This course was amazing and the lectures were put in great detail. I am writing a book about the assassination of John Kennedy and this course helped me greatly with the evidence and how it affected other presidents, also with how the legacy remains and grows more throughout each person every day. I have read some of Professor Sabato's book (more towards the assassination) and it was wonderful.

By mansi gupta

Oct 02, 2018

easy

By Amal Abo-Elmagd Eldesoky Ibrahim

Sep 05, 2018

Very good Course , I really enjoyed it

By Mohamed Guerfal

Jun 04, 2018

Very resourcing course about half centery of USA history with the main actors president so influenced by legacy of legendary JFK .....enjoy it

By Hugh Gerechter

May 17, 2018

The course spent too much time on the details of the assassination; the discussion of the following half century was weak, with a peculiar emphasis on tax cuts and military action -- did terrorism 'restore purpose' to America's foreign policy? The frequent exhortations to consult the professor's book for important details were particularly vexing.

By Richard Henkle

Apr 09, 2018

Thanks so much Larry!