Chevron Left
Back to Meaningful Marketing Insights

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Meaningful Marketing Insights by Emory University

4.4
131 ratings
29 reviews

About the Course

With marketers are poised to be the largest users of data within the organization, there is a need to make sense of the variety of consumer data that the organization collects. Surveys, transaction histories and billing records can all provide insight into consumers’ future behavior, provided that they are interpreted correctly. In Introduction to Marketing Analytics, we introduce the tools that learners will need to convert raw data into marketing insights. The included exercises are conducted using Microsoft Excel, ensuring that learners will have the tools they need to extract information from the data available to them. The course provides learners with exposure to essential tools including exploratory data analysis, as well as regression methods that can be used to investigate the impact of marketing activity on aggregate data (e.g., sales) and on individual-level choice data (e.g., brand choices). To successfully complete the assignments in this course, you will require Microsoft Excel. If you do not have Excel, you can download a free 30-day trial here: https://products.office.com/en-us/try...

Top reviews

HK

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent course! Very hands on with right level of theory and application. Prof. Schweidel is obviously an expert in this field.

JD

Aug 29, 2017

This course went in depth into some excel functions used for analyzing sales and marketing data, really thought it was useful.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Meaningful Marketing Insights

By Waseem B

Mar 28, 2017

As someone with a very limited background in statistics, I found the course jumped very quickly from basics to extremely complicated statistical modeling with all the jargon that comes with it. So either the course description didn't provide enough information for a non-statistician to realize it will get very complex, or the language and explanations should have been simplified/more descriptive for the audience.

By Christian K

May 25, 2018

There's barely enough content or involvement, here, to qualify this as a course. The video lessons drill in on incredibly simple concepts while breezing right over complex terms, formulas, and practical knowledge which is then tested. There are very few reference documents. There are no ways to cross-reference our methodology/problem solving in excel.

To top it all off, the 'teacher' and assistants are completely non-existent. Any questions posed in the last 3-4 years have gone completely unanswered.

To say I'm disappointed is an understatement.

By Sejan R C

Jul 12, 2018

I love this course.

By Mahdi T C

Jul 13, 2018

love this course

By Aloka G

Dec 03, 2016

This course is a must for anyone who is serious about learning about data driven marketing and gleaning practical insights.

By Melanie M

Nov 12, 2017

The last 2 video lectures: Customer Valuation Excel Demonstration and Inventory Management Excel Demonstrationm were very well explained and taught me something new and useful.

By Jairo J N P

Jun 13, 2017

Great content. The hands-on approach and the use of actual tools with basic software are just great.

By S. J D I

May 09, 2017

Very interesting course with lots of career pertinent information and learning.

By Harish K

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent course! Very hands on with right level of theory and application. Prof. Schweidel is obviously an expert in this field.

By Elena W

Aug 23, 2017

This course provided practical hands-on approach to understanding basics of marketing forecasting.

By Juliana D

Aug 29, 2017

This course went in depth into some excel functions used for analyzing sales and marketing data, really thought it was useful.

By Arjun S

Oct 19, 2018

an excellent start to marketing analytics

By David W

Nov 01, 2018

Really enjoyed the class. I like that the examples and data files were on topics that someone in marketing might use in their daily work.

Only suggestion would be to update the readings, Most of them were at least two years old.

By Monique S

Aug 21, 2018

Helpful, practical assignments and tutorials.

By Jin M

Jul 11, 2019

Useful and Insightful

By Omer E

Jul 30, 2019

It is a very good structured entry level course to marketing analytics for professionals who have some Excel skills but don't know where to start. It's the first part of a 6-course pack and I look forward to start the rest asap. I strongly recommend.

By William B

Aug 13, 2019

Excellent lectures and content throughout the course.

By John

Nov 25, 2016

Good learning experience

By Darya Y

Oct 21, 2016

The content is extremely valuable and was delivered in a very good way fully engaging the learners!

One thing I would improve in future is the time assessment for the assignments and reading - some took me way longer than suggested and others way shorter. In addition it would be nice to have the workload distributed eavenly along the weeks not pushing the most timeconsuming assignments to the last stage.

By Isabelle P

Dec 22, 2016

Some notions introduced too fast and with little explanations. Overall very interesting and applicable.

By Steffen M

Mar 13, 2017

Great content and examples. Sometimes, the theoretical background could be explained more comprehensively in the lectures.

By Christine M

Jun 24, 2017

I would have liked more discussion of theory behind what the formulas were and, actually, using slicers for data so that clients couldn't "break" the file unintentionally. Otherwise, it was a good basic course, a little too dependent on showing Excel rather than saying why something worked (IF clauses are a good example here, cutting and pasting formulas is not as helpful to my personal learning style as just explaining the rationale behind them.)

By Steve Y

Sep 05, 2017

I wish solutions for probabilities related questions were very detailed, for people who are still learning statistics, or forgot.

By Moayyad A Y

Nov 04, 2016

content is great and direct to the point. But 2 disappointing factors could have been avoided to make this course perfect

1- sound is almost in one ear which can make you feel dizzy if you are using headset.

2- instructor is reading everything like a robot. Very fast , no passion or whatsoever.

I guess 3 stars is fair enough.

By Simon P d G

Jul 29, 2017

the course is just not a course, it's a learn by yourself