Chevron Left
Back to Mountains 101

Mountains 101, University of Alberta

4.9
692 ratings
248 reviews

About this Course

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top reviews

By SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

By AB

Jun 22, 2017

This is a very comprehensive and interesting presentation of the place mountain occupy in our social, economical, and spiritual life. I definitely would enjoy visiting the Canadian Rockies.

Filter by:

245 Reviews

By Bo Percival

Feb 13, 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)

By Joan Vendrell Marce

Feb 08, 2019

Amazing! I enjoyed and learned a lot, thanks!

By Jacquie Hill

Feb 05, 2019

Beautifully delivered. Very inspiring course. Thank you.

By Christopher Ward

Feb 02, 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

By David Schuck

Feb 02, 2019

Everything about this course was wonderful! Great information, great instructors, very fun course!

By Amber McMillan

Feb 02, 2019

Loved the course and learning an all around study of mountains from history to preservation to the wildlife and biodiversity. Also appreciated the tech tips! This is a great course for all nature lovers.

By KASHIF HAMID

Feb 01, 2019

I love to learn and this course was awesome and really good learning experience !

By Michelle Olsen

Feb 01, 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

By Daniel Templeton Vasquez

Feb 01, 2019

Fantastic course, I enjoyed it so much.

By Luis sanchez suarez

Jan 31, 2019

curso recomendado si te gustan las montañas y quieres conocer más sobre su dinámica y ecología-