Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started With Music Theory

Getting Started With Music Theory, Michigan State University

4.5
137 ratings
38 reviews

About this Course

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Top reviews

By DP

May 07, 2017

A great course to understand Music in a technical way. Has not just helped me understand the concepts but also has inspired me to learn an instrument and apply the concepts.

By JJ

Feb 16, 2017

Great Course, Already Told My Friend About It, I Learned So Much In So Little Time.

Filter by:

38 Reviews

By Danila Gomulkin

Oct 24, 2018

The course gives much practice and many useful hints to help students easily identify notes, chords and their inversions in sheet music. A very good help to any course in music theory!

By Tamora Kimmitt

Oct 13, 2018

The instructor made a number of assumptions that were not outlined in the description of the course. It was assumed that the students would be auditory learners. It was assumed that the students would be uninterested in or afraid of the mathematical side of music theory.

I expected a more mathematical approach to the topic of music theory and I kept waiting for explanations that were never presented. There were some links provided to musictheory.net, and that site was a better resource than the class lectures.

By

Aug 27, 2018

yayyy i passed

By Hai yen

Jun 08, 2018

TQ

By Mercedes Tredwell

May 23, 2018

I'm learning so much!!

By Reid Cushman

May 07, 2018

A really good course. Too bad I am not good at it.

By Herman Jose Vilella

May 01, 2018

Very instructional and clear. Great teacher!

By Mark Wallace

Apr 25, 2018

Stating that this course is for beginners is simply misleading. The discussion question for the second week is "What is your favorite interval?". First of all, as a beginner, I just learned what an interval was (and even that information is presented as if you have knowledge that a beginner simply wouldn't), and without being able to recognize notes by ear (which a beginner certainly couldn't do, or at least this one can't) how would I have any idea how to answer this question?

While some of this content is presented in a very basic manner that a beginner can grasp and use to build upon, by the time I got into intervals in the second week, I was simply lost, even after going through the entire first part of the second week again.

Perhaps I'm simply not musically-minded enough for this course, but this level of content and method of instruction seems well beyond what a beginner course should offer. And unfortunately, it's past my 14-day refund period with Coursera, so I'm out the certificate fee.

By 梁司其

Apr 21, 2018

thanks for this course, which introduces me to the music theory

By Graeme Herrington

Apr 10, 2018

Good, but fairly basic. Useful overview or re-introduction.