Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.7
5,882 ratings
1,372 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 09, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

YT

Sep 18, 2015

This is one of the best and enlightening MOOC I have taken and I already start reaping the benefit. I encourage everyone who is serious about his/her career to consider this course!\n\nYannick Kounga

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,332 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Kartik G

Apr 18, 2017

I had a great time attending this course. Its like a long journey which you don't want to come to an end. Dr. George Sidel and his great efforts behind creating this course should sure be applauded.

By María A V G

Mar 13, 2019

Great course! It changes the way I used to see negotiations.

By Theodoros E

Nov 10, 2018

The course was not what I expected. In my opinion there is no academic foundation but most likely evolved science. There have been times that was eager to finish the video. The bibliography was poor and the lecture slides very bad. Also, the whole subject of the course is the professor's book, word for word, so that means in case you buy the book, you have the hole course, but not the certificate.The least I can say, is that this act is unprofessional, anti-ideological, and it does not take the course in another level with more knowledge.

By Jeffrey A B

Dec 29, 2018

A great set of skills to learn and a challenging but rewarding course.

By Eduards K

Dec 16, 2018

As an introduction to the topic it seems to provide essential information. Having little to no previous experience in negotiation it provides useful insight and different perspective. The pace of the videos seems too slow at times, but the content is relevant to the topic and assessment questions have some difficulty. Surely worth the time and effort.

By Johann J

Dec 14, 2018

Great content, real-life example, and flexible schedule. Great for professionals.

By Paris

Jan 14, 2019

THIS CLASS IS VERY USEFUL WHETHER FROM PRACTICAL SKILLS OR THEORITICAL BASIS FOR MY NEGOTIATION IN MY REAL WORKING ENVIRONMENT, WHICH LEADS MR TO THINK TWICE BEFORE I throw out my ideas

By TUSHAR T

Feb 02, 2019

Great Learning

By Fabian A

Sep 26, 2016

This course disappointed me. I expected to receive knowledge about negotiation. But it's more advertisement for the book. I did every step in the course until the quiz and the quiz asks for knowledge which wasn't in the course. I assume that i should have read the book to be prepared to do the quiz. That's not why i registered on coursera.

By Tibor N

Jan 02, 2016

Poor content, only a book accompanies the videos and we should not be forced to buy anything!

By Michael R

Dec 11, 2015

Not very well organized course to teach the essential principles of negotiation. The course material moves incongruently between legal and business negotiation tactics, which would make it difficult for any untrained future negotiator to understand the art of negotiation and ADR for business and law.

By Dasha M S

Dec 10, 2018

This is course has really helped me in both professional and personal life choices! Thank you!

By Яшин Д О

Dec 13, 2018

Very good course!

By

Nov 30, 2018

Excelente!

By Tania J M A

Dec 04, 2018

It's an excellent tool for understand many things about several negotiations kinds.

By Emilio Y H

Jan 10, 2019

Excelente, muy completo y con muchos ejemplos!

By Sharon S

Jan 13, 2019

A profound and stretching course that expects participants to challenge themselves and their assumptions, and ultimately raises their negotiation's capabilities. Immensely practical and potentially transformational. Prof Seidel teaching style is friendly, approachable and humorous (but requires some patience as he develops his arguments at a certain pace). You will enjoy and learn from it. A lot.

By Tsamitros A

Jan 14, 2019

Great professor. Totally worth the time. :)

By 丘星新

Feb 15, 2019

看不了啊

By Robert L

Jan 22, 2019

Great course. Well taught with illustrative real world examples.

By Diego D V

Feb 19, 2019

Amazing course!

By Manish K

Feb 18, 2019

It was wonderful gaining experience through this course.

By Idrees

Feb 18, 2019

Excellent course have limited and digestible content with supporting real life examples that blown the mind of viewer and also give them a life long lesson for professional as well as in dally life negotiations

By Sunil K A

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent speech

By Mariam T

Jan 25, 2019

fantastic introduction