Chevron Left
Back to Fundamental Neuroscience for Neuroimaging

Fundamental Neuroscience for Neuroimaging, Johns Hopkins University

4.6
289 ratings
60 reviews

About this Course

Neuroimaging methods are used with increasing frequency in clinical practice and basic research. Designed for students and professionals, this course will introduce the basic principles of neuroimaging methods as applied to human subjects research and introduce the neuroscience concepts and terminology necessary for a basic understanding of neuroimaging applications. Topics include the history of neuroimaging, an introduction to neuroimaging physics and image formation, as well as an overview of different neuroimaging applications, including functional MRI, diffusion tensor imaging, magnetic resonance spectroscopy, perfusion imaging, and positron emission tomography imaging. Each will be reviewed in the context of their specific methods, source of signal, goals, and limitations. The course will also introduce basic neuroscience concepts necessary to understand the implementation of neuroimaging methods, including structural and functional human neuroanatomy, cognitive domains, and experimental design....

Top reviews

By AJ

Dec 26, 2017

Enjoyable, sweet and to the point. Though, a bit too fast. Thankfully, the video medium accommodates for that with play-speed modification. Learned a lot of new information

By GK

Feb 27, 2018

I am really thankful to coursera for helping me in learning the fundamental of neuroscience for neuroimaging. This is going to help me a lot in future.

Filter by:

61 Reviews

By PRABHSIMRAN SINGH

Dec 14, 2018

THE COURSE CONTENT LACKS PRACTICAL VIEW

By Habiba Quddusi

Dec 11, 2018

Amazing course for the one who love to gain knowledge online about neuroimaging:)

By David Bodden

Nov 27, 2018

Great introduction course for someone with interests in neuroimaging.

By Mina Theofilatou

Nov 20, 2018

The course was excellent, exactly what I was looking for. Gained valuable knowledge, now considering delving deeper and perhaps attending a course leading to a formal qualification. Thanks to Professor Bakker and everyone involved!!!

By Anna Karnafil

Nov 20, 2018

I highly recommend this course for those who start neuroscience from scratch

By Georgie Lees-Smith

Nov 19, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, it was an excellent introduction for me. I would have liked the multiple choice questions to have continued throughout the videos so that there was a more interactive nature. It would have been useful for one of the university members to respond to the discussion topics, perhaps a student.

By Daniel Ballesteros Herrera

Nov 07, 2018

Great introductory course.

By Claude Pelletier

Oct 20, 2018

Very informative

By ThejasVishnu Ramesh

Sep 29, 2018

A beautiful course that explains to us the fundamentals of neuroimaging methods with an introduction to brain structure and cognitive function. A special thanks to the professor for putting this course together for neuroimaging and neuroscience beginners.

By Cristian Navarro

Sep 22, 2018

Muy interesante, enfoca las primeras dos semanas en repaso general de neurología y neurociencia, para luego dejar las 2 semanas finales para técnicas de neuroimagen y sus aplicaciones. No profundiza en clínica ni claves diagnósticas pero deja en claro que no es el objetivo del curso.