Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
2,124 ratings
747 reviews

About the Course

Dr. Martin E.P. Seligman—renowned worldwide as the “father of Positive Psychology”—has led visionary leaps in the scientific research, empirical data and personal understandings of human flourishing. This course explores the past, present and future of positive psychology as a journey through the key scientific leaps led by Dr. Seligman and his colleagues at the University of Pennsylvania's Positive Psychology Center and Master of Applied Positive Psychology program. There are no prerequisites....

Top reviews

RS

Dec 09, 2017

Very self-enhancing. Activities are fun and at the same time a good avenue for learning experiences. Very positive and student engaging. Thank you for giving me the chance to be part of this course =)

MK

Aug 26, 2018

Glad to learn lot of experimental positive psychology tools to use in day to day life and helped to practice positive psychology coaching through this course. Thank you Coursera for this opportunity.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 751 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

By elainechen

May 03, 2019

Too much about professor's theories and their promotions, less practical exercise or methods.

By Lindsay F

Mar 16, 2019

This course was so interesting, engaging, relatively easy concepts to follow, and also impactful. Applicable to people with all interests!

By Khrystyna T

Mar 13, 2019

I express my gratitude to everyone who prepared this course, especially Martin Seligman. It was a pleasure for me to learn from you. Your course is available for people like me, with not the best English :) A lot of useful information and exercises that I already use in my life and in working with clients.

By Susanne W

Mar 13, 2019

A complete visionary in the world of psychology. His concepts and skills should be taught in every classroom and are a great path for anyone looking to improve their overall life experience. I wish I had learned all of this sooner. Awesome!

By Chris L

Mar 11, 2019

The last school I worked at introduced Positive Education over two years ago and the whole process resonated with me in every way. It helped teachers open up themselves, their weaknesses, their strengths and how they would like to improve to better their students. When I came across this course, it was an easy decision and well worth the time. I will continue to practise the work myself. I have introduced it to my children each night through one of the processes that I learned and I would like to pass it onto students and eventually do more training in this area and get a whole school involved, possibly a larger organisation doing it.

By Ozrenka

Mar 06, 2019

It gives you the basics that you need to understand Positive Psychology concepts, it gives you an opportunity to interact with other learners in forum discussions, it gives you 'homework', positive interventions you can practice at home or work, it's easy to follow, overall it's an excellent course if you need to be introduced in the field of Positive Psychology.

By Lequn G

Feb 24, 2019

This course gives a good overview of positive psychology based on research methods and findings. At the same time, it didn't emphasize how to apply positive psychology in real life (except some isolated mentions like ACR). I'd recommend it for those who want to get an idea of this field, not those who want practical applications. Maybe the following courses in this series will focus more on applications/interventions.

By chelsea m

Jun 19, 2019

LOVE THIS COURSE. Thank you so much. It was fun, interactive, informative and inspiring. I want to learn more!

By Bruna K L

Jun 19, 2019

Great!!!!

By Tofail A

Jun 18, 2019

Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science: It will be very helpful for all of us. But especially those who are working in field of of MHPSS they will get a concrete knowledge of positive psychology for sure. I am doing this course with full of hope. You can get this opportunity .

By Neha J

Jun 16, 2019

A

By Joly C

Jun 15, 2019

This is a great introduction of Positive Psychology and how we can practice it from daily life.

By Angela S C N

Jun 15, 2019

Good course to having an intro and overview of Positive Psychology and lectures from Martin Seligman, the master himself!

By Napashompooh S

Jun 14, 2019

Easy to understand even I am not an English native speaker. The course is organised and the concepts are applicable and authentic.

By Christy J

Jun 13, 2019

Thank you very much for a thought provoking course. I am a psychologist (graduated 2002) and found so much new information in this course, as well as new perspectives on old research that I had heard about before. The section on fields that are being influenced by positive psychology was inspiring! Just taking this class seemed to improve my outlook on life, increased my optimism about the future (and society), and improved my well being. Thank you!

By Jigisha S

Jun 13, 2019

It is a very helpful course, especially when I am planning to work with young children on holistic positive living. The content was easy to understand and some practical exercises were very good

By Estela R L

Jun 10, 2019

EXCELENTE!!!

By Paula C M d C

Jun 10, 2019

I's a bit slow

By Vanessa S

Jun 09, 2019

I 180 change of world view and personal life

By Ricardo A M

Jun 06, 2019

Este es un muy buen curso para crecimiento personal y para los profesionales....Ciertamente para cualquiera que quiera mejorar su vida...

By Kelly P

Jun 05, 2019

This is a little heavy on the science and statistics side for me. I want to learn more about becoming more optimistic and resilient and less about the studies being done. It's still a good course with a lot of interesting information though.

By Chin M

Jun 04, 2019

I have not yet completed this course, however, I am very impressed at the lasting impression it has on me, as I am applying this daily in my routine with my Children. I am excited to learn more.

By Natalia A V

Jun 04, 2019

It's a mind opener, and Dr. Seligman is so delighting. Thank you very much for this new perspective.

By Manideep P

Jun 03, 2019

The most simplified and humongous concept of emotional.optimistic behaviour and mindset.Really loved being here and completing it..I can feel all the stuff in my head now!

By Cecilia V

Jun 03, 2019

So far I am loving the very interesting discussion by professor Seligman.