Chevron Left
Back to The People, Power, and Pride of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The People, Power, and Pride of Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
85 ratings
23 reviews

About the Course

The People, Power, and Pride of Public Health provides an engaging overview of the incredible accomplishments and promise of the public health field. The first module includes interviews with legendary public health figures whose work led to millions of lives saved with vaccines, air bags and car seats, and the federal Women Infants and Children (WIC) nutrition program. The second module brings key public health tools to life -- including use of data, communications, and policy - through discussions with experienced professionals who have used these tools to save lives. The third module includes a "Carpool Karaoke"-style trip through Baltimore County, Maryland with NACCHO President Dr. Umair Shah to see and hear real public health workers talking about how they serve their communities. Learners will come away from this course with a deeper understanding of the public health field and a greater enthusiasm for their own work in public health. Preview the course on YouTube: goo.gl/RXKbUr...

Top reviews

AC

Aug 01, 2018

This would be a good course for people beginning work in Public Health. They will be surprised to learn how many aspects of our lives are influenced by public

RA

Apr 29, 2018

Very informative. For someone in the healthcare industry, I can use much of what I learned to educate my community and the patients I deal with at work.

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for The People, Power, and Pride of Public Health

By Denita B U

May 20, 2019

Great practical insights on Public Health!

By Ahmad B

Jan 28, 2019

Splendid presentation of an important course!

By Ananaba J

Jan 24, 2019

I love this course.

By Joshua L

Dec 24, 2018

The course was very good and interesting however, boring. The videos did not gain the attention of the pupil as they were not very interactive and it was just two people talking.

By Georgianna W

Sep 06, 2018

This is an excellent introduction to Public Health for new staff, particularly staff that do not have a public health background. The use of personal interviews was effective in prompting the viewer to relate their own work to the bigger role of public health in the community.

By Liljana J

Aug 17, 2018

great format, content, and thought exercises for an intro to what and who public health is

By Amy C

Aug 01, 2018

This would be a good course for people beginning work in Public Health. They will be surprised to learn how many aspects of our lives are influenced by public

By Juan M

Jun 02, 2018

Quick and easy course, but informative and everyone in the videos provide a good explanation of what they do as well as display a passion for their service.

By Rita F A

Apr 29, 2018

Very informative. For someone in the healthcare industry, I can use much of what I learned to educate my community and the patients I deal with at work.

By SHIV C M

Mar 15, 2018

Doing a course from Johns Hopkins for a passionate public health professional like me who could not manage to seek any residential course from this esteemed university in his young age is a matter of pride. It has revived my energy to trek the educational courses conducted by highly acclaimed universities.

By Le Q D

Feb 19, 2018

The course is very interesting. It helps me to have a comprehensive information on public health. The structure of the course is suitable with lots of interactions with professional people. However, the information is not deep enough.

By Loren W

Feb 18, 2018

Very surface based, as you can probably see from the course load, but interesting information nonetheless.

By Juan P E

Jan 04, 2018

El curso es bueno, da un insight en lo que es public health, sus diferentes áreas y la necesidad de esta disciplina. Sin embargo, el último modulo es un poco tedioso.

By Iris J

Dec 11, 2017

Interesting review of

By Kevin C

Dec 03, 2017

A great introduction to public health. I appreciated the different formats that information was presented.

By Christine J

Dec 03, 2017

I am greatful for the opportunity to pursue knowledge in a very important course with the most prestigoius university in the world, online. This allowed me an opportunity to learn at my own pace and space. It was short, doable and very impactful. Thank you. Christine, Namibia

By Andrés F E B

Nov 18, 2017

Espectacular curso.

By Joshua

Nov 16, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and found many insights in the course content. As a very recent graduate in social science and environmental science, the week 3 content was very helpful in opening my eyes to the public health sector, which I would very much like to be a part of. I am currently seeking full time work in Victoria (Australia) and this course did a fantastic job of proving to me that jobs do exist, despite being fairly invisible within communities.

By Fátima d l F

Oct 22, 2017

Great course! Loved it

By Marci R

Sep 05, 2017

This course was well planned and organized. Maintained interest while learning. Short videos accompanied by discussion prompts and brief quizzes. Enjoyed the course and "getting to know" the folks involved in Public Health in Baltimore County.

By olga C

Sep 01, 2017

I think is excellent and very useful in expl

By Nouf B

Aug 20, 2017

A very simple and fun course, I took it in my summer vacation and I liked it, it was information refreshing