Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
1,505 ratings
299 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

KM

Aug 09, 2019

Coursera has improved my practical skill in programming due a lot of practices and guidance. Taking Python basics has really helped me gain confidence to take over so many programming challenges.

MN

Jan 03, 2019

I have tried a few different Python courses and this is the one you want to do. Why? Because the textbook used SPACED REPETITION - scientifically proven as the best way to really learn anything.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 300 Reviews for Python Basics

By Roque G G

May 16, 2019

Can't participate in assignments unless you pay

By hakem

Jan 15, 2019

I really liked the exercises. especially when we do a mistake it explain why it is false. and one can follow the programming exercises step by step to understand how it works

By Rich N

Jan 07, 2019

This was a well put-together course. The instruction was clearly divided and explained during video presentation. The online course manual with a IDE environment to experiment was very useful. Each week's instruction built on previous week, and instructors proactively scanning and responding to questions on online class forums was very beneficial and appreciated. I do recommend taking this course including those without previous programming experience.

By Michael N

Jan 03, 2019

I have tried a few different Python courses and this is the one you want to do. Why? Because the textbook used SPACED REPETITION - scientifically proven as the best way to really learn anything.

By Brian U

Dec 23, 2018

Excellent course! I have taken several online courses, including a few programming languages. Python Basics had by far the best content and format. The videos and readings reinforce each other and are focused into small segments so that I never felt overwhelmed. The quiz questions and assignments were spaced frequently enough to ensure I was learning the material as I progressed.

By Tom B

Mar 08, 2019

Basic is right - I'd recommend this for someone completely new to programming but those used to another programming language will find themselves wanting more in the way of extension questions. The main difficulty is working out how the materials fit together: it's very easy to find yourself going through the accompanying documents (which are very helpful) and find you've accidentally completed the assessments - which you then have to do again via the appropriate link in the course materials.

By Robert P

Feb 16, 2019

Very well paced course for those with limited to no programming experience. The online textbook and embedded exercises are excellent and very graceful at handling programming errors. The format takes any apprehension out of learning Python and provides useful feedback throughout. The "Way of the Programmer" transcends simply learning syntax and patterns to provide useful advice for a novice programmers to improve their coding abilities regardless of the language used.

By Ravi S V

Feb 16, 2019

Excellent Course. Learnt a lot.

By Alexis J A A C

Feb 10, 2019

Such a wonderful course!

By Daniel H

Feb 12, 2019

Great! Learned what I wanted to learn. The videos and course materials were excellent.

By Alvaro C S

Feb 12, 2019

so clear!! amazing course

By Abdulmajeed A I

Feb 11, 2019

An Excellent course for beginners who plan on learning programming for the first time. Good and challenging assignments. Way better than the other course by UoM called "Python for Everyone" (Sorry Dr. Charles Severance).

By Juzer F

Feb 04, 2019

This course is planned very nicely. Pace is good and plenty of exercise to learn the concepts.

By Lewalski, J

Feb 07, 2019

Very good course for beginners! It explains each aspect very deeply.

By Henloy A

Feb 09, 2019

Great Course with excellent content and learning videos. Instructors and instructions are very concise and meaningful. The course is broken down into manageable portions and each portion has ample examples and practice. The tests and practice tests are helpful in testing your knowledge

By Chris I

Feb 15, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and found the content easy to follow.

By Muthuraman S

Feb 12, 2019

Very interactive and good hands on exercises.

By Robert P W

Feb 12, 2019

Well thought out material with a great mix of video, reading and interactive exercises.

By KAUNG N S

Feb 03, 2019

Wonderful!

By Nikesh K

Feb 02, 2019

This was very well constructed. Really cleared my basics on Python!

By Manny B

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course!!

By Bensaid O

Feb 01, 2019

4 weeks of study in this course "Python Basics" was useful for me. thanks a lot for the awesome instructors

By Miranda W

Mar 01, 2019

very good course

By Lizette G B

Mar 01, 2019

The course is very useful to get familiarized with Python's syntax and semantics. The materials are well designed so that students can learn the main concepts and practice their application. I highly recommend it.

By Nuthalapati S

Feb 28, 2019

Nice course to start from basics.