Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Using Python to Access Web Data, University of Michigan

4.8
16,621 ratings
3,270 reviews

About this Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)
High quality content
(256 Reviews)

Top reviews

By JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

By AG

Sep 13, 2017

The course teaches the basics of how to interact with the internet using Python. The course is simple, well explained, has great interviews with people who were part of the creation of the internet.

Filter by:

3,146 Reviews

By Greg Peters

Dec 13, 2018

Thanks!! :D

By David Brideson

Dec 13, 2018

These courses are great :)

By Gabriel Antonio Oliveira

Dec 12, 2018

of the best and most great courses of specialization

By Dao Xuan Hoang

Dec 12, 2018

goood

By ABHISHEK TIWARI

Dec 12, 2018

best contents i hv nvr seen

By Luis

Dec 12, 2018

Great MOOC, max efficiency for the study workload

By Islam Mohamed Asoliman Zaid

Dec 11, 2018

very helpful, I hope more courses like that.

By Raquel Robles García

Dec 11, 2018

Doing this course is not so much related to Python but to other computer engineering topics.

Network concepts are required, as well as knowing other programming languages such as HTML, XML or JSON, API or WebServices. Assignments require parsing webpages in HTML, XML or JSON, so knowledge of the same is needed. I would not pursue this course unless having strong knowledge about those topics

It is offered as part of a certification for people that know nothing about programming, so between course 2 and 3 there is a huge conceptual gap (going from loops, if-else and defining variables to HTTPS protocols, JSON and Service Layers). Keep your expectations right

By Bopaiah Machetira Dalu

Dec 11, 2018

great instructor, good lectures.

By Bingfeng Tang

Dec 10, 2018

It's better to introduce algorithms instead if access web data. Algorithms are basics for everyone who is learning programming, but some specific direction like web develop is for people who interested in it.