Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

Robotics: Computational Motion Planning, University of Pennsylvania

4.2
675 ratings
181 reviews

About this Course

Robotic systems typically include three components: a mechanism which is capable of exerting forces and torques on the environment, a perception system for sensing the world and a decision and control system which modulates the robot's behavior to achieve the desired ends. In this course we will consider the problem of how a robot decides what to do to achieve its goals. This problem is often referred to as Motion Planning and it has been formulated in various ways to model different situations. You will learn some of the most common approaches to addressing this problem including graph-based methods, randomized planners and artificial potential fields. Throughout the course, we will discuss the aspects of the problem that make planning challenging....

Top reviews

By FC

Nov 28, 2018

The course was challenging, but fulfilling. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for giving this wonderful experience and opportunity that I might not experience in our local community!

By AD

Jul 03, 2018

The topic was very interesting, and the assignments weren't overly complicated. Overall, the lesson was fun and informative , despite the bugs in the learning tool(especially, the last assignment.)

Filter by:

175 Reviews

By Fredo P. Chavez

Nov 28, 2018

The course was challenging, but fulfilling. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for giving this wonderful experience and opportunity that I might not experience in our local community!

By Tianyi Zhang

Oct 30, 2018

Great lecture

By Aditya Rauniyar

Oct 09, 2018

There should be more materials for completing the assignment problems. I find it Insufficient. The course overall is great!

By Vu Nhat Minh

Sep 19, 2018

Really good course but not too deeply knowledge in Motion Planning

By Joaquin Rincon

Sep 05, 2018

Good course. Easy to understand and with reasonable mat lab assigments

By Taimoor Daud Khan

Aug 28, 2018

Course content is very good however topics should be covered in much detail. Frequent bugs in programming assignments is also a concern.

By Anubhav Halder

Aug 25, 2018

very engaging and informative course. enjoyed it throughout. teaching stuffs are excellent and cooperative too, really appreciate the presence of the discussion forum. helped me a lot. its like learning in a group. overall a must have for mechanical and aerospace engineer or enthusiasts.

By Prabin Kumar Rath

Aug 13, 2018

awesome!!!

By 徐恩科

Aug 07, 2018

a great course! interesting assignments.

By Cristian Miguel Del Toro Rondón

Jul 28, 2018

The covered material is well presented, and everything felt useful and practical.

I feel they could have covered more topics. Also, the quizzes and programming exercises are short, easy, and don't cover all the techniques they mention.