Chevron Left
Back to SEL for Students: A Path to Social Emotional Well-Being

SEL for Students: A Path to Social Emotional Well-Being, University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
41 ratings
12 reviews

About this Course

Social and emotional learning, or SEL, programs have flourished in schools during the last decade. In this course the instructor (Emily Price) introduces you to the history and framings of social and emotional learning preK-12 curricula, as well as various elementary, middle, and high school SEL programs and associated research. This course is a part of the 5-course Specialization “The Teacher and Social Emotional Learning (SEL)”. Interested in earning 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization? If so check out "How you can earn 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization" reading in the first module of this course for additional information. We want to note that the courses in this Specialization were designed with a three-credit university course load in mind. As a participant you may notice a bit more reading content and a little less video/lecture content. Completing and passing the SEL Specialization allows the participant to apply for 3 graduate credits toward teacher re-certification and professional enhancement. We want to ensure the quality and high standards of a University of Colorado learning experience. Interested in earning 3 graduate credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for The Teacher and Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Specialization? Check out "How you can earn 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization" reading in the first week of this course for more information....

Top reviews

By JW

Apr 21, 2019

Excellent information about students self awareness, social awareness, self management, interpersonal relationships and problem solving. Research based instruction from UC-Boulder. Awesome course.

By MM

Mar 13, 2018

This course provided insight in to the reasons social emotional learning is vital for students' success in life, and provided many data points to support SEL as an academic positive, as well.

Filter by:

12 Reviews

By Elizabeth Amador DiMento

May 19, 2019

As the course progresses the information regarding the different SEL programs for Elementary, Middle and High School was in depth and informative. Our school has been using Mind Up with good results but just as the articles emphasized it needs to be implemented with fidelity. The SEL competencies also need to be modeled by teachers and I appreciate the findings in the article Review of Classroom Based SEL Programs for Middle School that "Attention to teachers should include investigation of setting-level supports, teaching practices, and teacher social emotional competencies, teaching practices, and motivation as correlates of the quality of implementation of the the SEL program and eventual impact on students." I will definitely recommend this class to my colleagues.

By Amber Schrage

May 04, 2019

Good connection to what is happening in classrooms at this moment.

By Jessica Waters

Apr 21, 2019

Excellent information about students self awareness, social awareness, self management, interpersonal relationships and problem solving. Research based instruction from UC-Boulder. Awesome course.

By Pete Birmingham

Mar 13, 2019

Concise, well-structured and easy to digest!

By Sarah Neuberger

Sep 07, 2018

Wonderful and thorough overview of an incredibly interesting subject. Thank you!

By Valerie Van Kerckhove

Aug 17, 2018

This course provides a very interesting overview of the many different SEL courses currently in use, and offers practical advice on how to choose ones that suit one's own classroom. The current field of SEL is rather new, so many strategies are being tried, and results are not always clear, so this MOOC helps makes some sense of it all.

By

Jul 20, 2018

The content was very interesting and I appreciated the evidence based studies along with the research presentation, videos and summaries.

By AISV, 111968960

Jul 01, 2018

I found this course very informative and I appreciated how week 4 and 5 were split into elementary and middle/high school. As an elementary teacher, I found it very interesting to read and watch the videos about SEL in middle and high school. It as interesting to see how SEL can continue on past elementary school.

By Jennifer

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course! I would highly recommend!

By Vasif Verdiyev

May 22, 2018

Perfect.It was very useful for me .I recommend you.