Chevron Left
Back to Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation by University of Cape Town

4.8
326 ratings
131 reviews

About the Course

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top reviews

SI

Feb 11, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

OM

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very effective course for anyone who would like to be an innovator or an entrepreneur. It helps with the knowledge and foundation of the necessary skills needed for social innovation.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 129 Reviews for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

By Nuala S

Jan 16, 2019

Thought provoking course. The weekly videos give a broad outline of the topic and the suggested reading / videos give learners a chance to dive deeper into the subject.

By judi a

Nov 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the videos and the course has changed my life

By Aoyumi J

Dec 14, 2018

I like it!

A good course to dig deep into different layers of problems and find creative ways to tackle it.

The way can be right there which is called hidden resources or available asset that we do not know and try to find something superficial... This is so cool for me!

By Cynthia C

Nov 30, 2018

Great information and teachers. Thanks!

By Amarnath

Jan 01, 2019

This is a very useful as well as interesting course. It must be undertaken by a social and development professional to reflect back on his experience and knowledge. It also helps consolidate and further explore the development and social sectors with a much organised way. The course tries to cover most parts of a social innovation ecosystem. It provides tools relevant, share examples and case studies from real life and puts you in practicing those competencies through assignments and peer reviews. I especially enjoyed the quiz and the assignments in the course, though assignment makes it little lengthy with respect to time but it is meaningful inventing that much time. Thanks, Amar, India

By Anita A

Jan 03, 2019

Introduction to Social Innovation pushes you to be innovative. I really enjoyed this course! Kudos to the lecturers and the team!

By Benson M

Mar 26, 2019

I really believe this course is one that all learners, irrespective of their chosen line of career development, must experience to gain some basic knowledge and skills necessary for them to become relevant to societal needs. The course has great potential to develop every individual, who desires to present themselves as a service or product provider, to a level where they can fully appreciate and understand community settings for a better impact.

By Nila G

Jan 28, 2019

Awesome course -- the right length,, practical in every way, applicable, excellent instruction!

Also, kicks your butt to achieve your goals and think critically ... while thinking about and helping others!

By Francisco N C D

Mar 05, 2019

Grounded on inspiring practice, complemented with theory. Interactive, with people from beautiful Africa and around the world. Simultaneously, it encourages you to know your context, its problems and its opportunities.

By Thandekile N X

Feb 04, 2019

I not only enjoyed the course but was challenged to broaden my thinking and ask more questions. This is a real resource for every social entrepreneur or change maker

By

Feb 13, 2019

Loved it!

By Elizaveta S

Mar 10, 2019

Loved the practical examples!

By Michal S

Feb 26, 2019

It was a very well prepared and very practical course. I love the cooperation of the university and the social enterprise that gives the course a very practical point of view. You immediately see what are the learnings good for or where they actually come from. Thanks so much for this course!

By Miguel A C R

Sep 08, 2018

Is a really interesting course and very helpful to start your social innovation journey!

By Yogesh G B

Sep 28, 2018

This is the very engaging and resourceful course for aspiring social changemakers. It has enabled me to start on my idea. Thanks UCT and Coursera.

By Emmanuel N

Sep 16, 2018

Great course. Clear information and good resources. The syllabus could be improved in the last week, regarding business models for this types of projects.

By David D

Aug 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and feel that I learnt a great deal. I feel well equipped and confident that I can be a changemaker for good in my community and country.

Thank you for the opportunity and lessons!

By Lynn W

Oct 10, 2018

Excellent course! I learned a lot about social innovation and how to think not just outside the box but upside down, flipped around, and everything in-between. The lectures are easy to follow and the examples are solid ones. Would highly reccomend! Will take these lessons with me in every challenge I tackle. Very much appreciated!

By Nolyn W

Oct 25, 2018

great course

By Rithik Y

Oct 25, 2018

A really awakening and challenging course for anyone who wants to help the world become a better place with their ideas.

By RAHUL P G

Nov 19, 2018

absolutely amazing course. I AM OVERWHELMED. THIS IS A EMOTIONAL MOMENT FOR ME. THANK U.

By carlin

Sep 18, 2018

i learned alot from this course thank you

By Jaspher C

Sep 06, 2018

Loved it

By Marwa M A A E N

Sep 26, 2016

It cover many important aspects of innoation in social works, however the extra reading is not enough to deliver the know how behind the concepts and approaches.

By Nanako

Jul 15, 2017

This course was fantastic!! What I loved most about it was that the course was client-focused. I had an idea, and their course helped me to develop and improve the idea so that I can positively affect my community. It was a class where I wanted to get all the ideas down because they were so innovative. I love how there was one main case study, R Labs, and how we were able to learn about their challenges and how they managed to successfully impact their community. The professors were great, they had an abundance of knowledge and I learned so much from them. Well done!