Chevron Left
Back to The Power of Team Culture

The Power of Team Culture, University of Pennsylvania

4.5
119 ratings
37 reviews

About this Course

Behind the success and failure of teams lies team culture. But what exactly is culture? How and why does it contribute to success and failure? In this course, you learn how to recognize aspects of team culture of which most people are typically unaware. It is often these seemingly unimportant aspects that have the greatest effect on the outcomes of group tasks. Your recognition of them enables you to form, join and lead teams more effectively. You also come to appreciate the role of ritual and symbols in the daily operation of teams, as well as in situations of change and crisis. Knowledge of the ideas and information in this class enables you to be a better team player and a more effective team leader....

Top reviews

By LM

Jun 09, 2018

It was so good! Good information regarding team culture, how you can create and how it affects your daily work- / personal life. A good teacher aswell! :)

By JN

May 13, 2018

Very illustrative with excellent examples. The teacher connects anthropological concepts to common situations in business teams and business decisions.

Filter by:

36 Reviews

By Tyronne Scott

Dec 04, 2018

Decent course, great insights with a huge range od examples to get you thinking. You just apply the logic to your corporate/business environment.

By Sherrae L. Hartie

Nov 05, 2018

I definitely have a better understanding of hiring practices and leadership styles and the affects of culture on their successful implementation. This help me to better understand how to implement needed changes in an already set culture and why certain individuals would be a better hire over others, not simply based on skill because they can be learned, but based on culture as that is much more difficult to teach, especially if someone is uncomfortable in a situation or with change. Great Class!

By Elaine Walker

Nov 04, 2018

Although it is interesting to hear this topic taught by an anthropoligist the content was very limited.

By Pranab Kamat

Nov 03, 2018

Very Insightful. Dr. Urban provides a lot of relevant examples to help the student understand things in a simpler, contextual manner.

By Ishwara Bhat K

Sep 26, 2018

Good one. Try this.

By Mandy Allen

Sep 04, 2018

This was not the hardest class I've ever taken on Coursera. I enjoyed the subject matter but wish I could be more challenged.

By Sebastian Porras

Aug 20, 2018

Excellente course!

By Ludvig Magnusson

Jun 09, 2018

It was so good! Good information regarding team culture, how you can create and how it affects your daily work- / personal life. A good teacher aswell! :)

By Mohamed Galala

Jun 05, 2018

It is a course for life not only leadership. I just must missed a textual summary of each course.

By Warren Pack

May 22, 2018

Dr. Urban is an excellent communicator, an expert in his field, and clearly loves his subject matter. That said, I had hoped to come away with more practical and experiential learning. I was hoping that the learning here would be directly translatable into a business environment and to come away with more business and interpersonal insights and fewer definitions which I fear I will soon forget due to lack of use. I must admit that by the end of the course I had tired of the academic tone and found the articles to be obtuse, to borrow a word from "Shawshank Redemption." Admittedly, the problem was equally due to my misdirected expectations and I bear some responsibility for the mismatch here.