Chevron Left
Back to Trading Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trading Basics by Indian School of Business

4.1
455 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Top reviews

NS

Jan 08, 2017

Good insights and must for a person who is seriously interested in trading ,\n\nAny one with a zero knowledge of finance can also take this course.

DB

Aug 17, 2017

It is perfect for even beginners to learn basics of trading fundamentals and apply it for advanced studies. Recommend this to everyone.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 110 Reviews for Trading Basics

By Michael F

Jun 07, 2018

I found the information provided useful. And certainly as a VERY "gentle" Introduction to the material the course was adequate. But I have always had a BIG Problem with courses in which the Professor's use "Slides" and do NOT actually ADD Value to the slides. I would say there is TREMENDOUS room for improvement of the course if the Professor would be willing to go BEYOND just the mere "Re-statement" of the Equations (That anyone who is not visually impaired can easily read for themselves) and actually provide some additional context. Actually, the Professor in this course does this, somewhat, but only VERY minimally, and NOT nearly ENOUGH! :)

However, I definitely don't want to be totally Negative, the (albeit VERY brief) comments the Professor made indicating HOW the information (values calculated from equations, values of ratios, etc) could actually be USED did provide me with some more insight than I would have been able to come up with on my own. And getting "more" insight than I, myself, can come up with on "my own" is basically the ONLY reason I want to "take" an "educational" course. However, one of the things, I myself, have consistently had to deal with in an attempt to "learn" about Investing is that book knowledge (or in the case of this course, data and text from slides), is not really enough. What I constantly search for is "insights from the "Experts". I have no doubt the Professor is an expert in the subject and it would have been better, for me, if he had been willing to share more of his "nuanced" expertise with the students. However, I recognize this is "just" an "Intro" course, so I likely have been a bit too negative than I should be. And I actually was reasonably "satisfied" with the course. Probably this review should be classified in the category of someone whose expectations for course was somewhat unrealistic.

Finally, not even sure if I need to say this because it was so blatant, but there was a consistent amount of ERRORS in the Slides also! Essentially, the errors amounted to some lines of data from a previous equation being repeated for a new ratio calculation in the Week 1 material and then occasional errors where the material in the slide was different from the Professor's stated numbers in his lectures.

By Putcha L N R

Jun 24, 2019

The explanation can be made a lot more lively. Otherwise, the instructor is extremely knowledgeable and gives good idea of the subject.

By Vasu C

Jun 19, 2019

I think the question and answers of week 4 quiz should be rechecked as there are some wrong answers.

By Aida H

Jun 17, 2019

I learned a lot and liked the practical teaching method in weeks 1 and 2. However, week 3 and 4 lessons are not clear.

By Vladimír V

Jun 11, 2019

Horrible sound

By Ramanuj C

Jun 01, 2019

There's no question on the quality of the course. It is very informative. But some content could have been better explained with supplementary reading exercises. The 4th week reading link is broken. The spreadsheet as promised in video is not provided. This could have been a more enjoyable session, had all the factors been kept into mind. I believe a revision is required for this course.

By Sai P G

May 30, 2019

Worst payment technique

By Louis A

May 29, 2019

Très bon cours

By Ujjwal S

May 29, 2019

The asset pricing model calculation and calculation of covariance is not explained at all which is a drawback because it is considered a beginner course

By Anurag

May 18, 2019

The Course is highly monotonous and something not easily understandable due to that. Online videos are difficult but this has a very straight flat feeling to session that it is very difficult.

By Udit N

May 03, 2019

The Theoretical Concepts in Week 1 and Week 2 are good and a student can follow from scratch. However, Week 3 is completely different and completely has vague teaching when it comes to explaining CAPM and CAPM Beta. Either the week is missing videos or there is a problem with the assumptions of the instructor. The instructor is just reading the numbers from the slides without explaining any formulas properly. The discussion forum is similar to the summary I have written here. There are many students who have encountered the same situation I have. Would suggest the instructor from ISB to take a look at it and Coursera to do it's part by auditing the course.

By Graeme T

Mar 18, 2019

Very poor job at teaching the required information. You don't need a month's subscription of Coursera to read half of the articles on Investopedia.

By helliot j l v

Mar 03, 2019

examples must be share in excel and solver

quizes resolution must be share too

By Joanne

Feb 27, 2019

If the professor can provide the excel solver solution to clarify the calculation, that will be great.

By Suraj P

Feb 21, 2019

Course is very good for beginners, but it has some mistakes which users has pointed out but hasn't been fixed.

Will recommend to fix the typo errors as receivers may be following up the in-correct teachings.

Thus 3 stars. Would have marked 5 star if the mistakes would had been fixed in time.

By Zachary S

Feb 10, 2019

There were mistakes in the slides presented where the instustor would say one thing but the slide displayed different numbers, the slides also could not be downloaded for review. Additional the quizzes also had mistakes and wouldn't tell you which question you got wrong. I would spend days retaking some quizzes just to find out I had to accept the wrong answer in order to pass the quiz. The additional materials and readings did not reflect the rigor of what I was expecting from the course.

By Harshul a

Feb 09, 2019

Brilliantly explained,,,,

By yogesh b

Jan 13, 2019

effectively covers the basic part of trading

By Akshay M

Dec 30, 2018

Few errors in the video content.

By Tomas M

Dec 29, 2018

There are a lots of mistakes and misspellings in those learning videos.

By Ioannis M

Dec 25, 2018

Not inspiring teaching methods,no good handouts,presentation skills.

By Sumit P

Dec 24, 2018

Very well structured

By Chukwudi U

Dec 24, 2018

The content needs some updates.

By Varun B

Dec 23, 2018

While the course provides a relevant insight into the key aspects of investments and trading, the end of week quiz does not provide a holistic representation of the topic covered in the course

By Scoodood

Dec 23, 2018

Confusing; Quiz with no solution, don't know if it is right or wrong; TA is not responding to messages