Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Introduction to Typography, California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,130 ratings
447 reviews

About this Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

By JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

By HY

Aug 24, 2016

This course was even better than the previous course of the specialization. It explains historical, technical part of the typography and assignments were very well related. Well designed course.

Filter by:

423 Reviews

By Ivan Karabaliev

Dec 10, 2018

Superb course! Very insightful.

By Salem Faycal Ameziane

Dec 07, 2018

very very awesome course, you will learn a lot from the

instructor.good luck

By Askargali Akerke

Dec 03, 2018

It is informative, accurate and laconic. It has the least degree of subjection, which makes it easier to do tasks and assess your peers work. I enjoyed taking this course and it helped me to become more confident

By Eunice Wang

Dec 03, 2018

Great course that provided my an overview of the history of type/typefaces. Fed me with interesting general knowledge on the differences between roman type, egyptian type etc.

Would highly recommend if you are interesting in picking up something new.

By Chic Casillas

Nov 22, 2018

Very good course. I find some parts very convoluted with information and very fast paced. I had to keep rewinding the videos to catch all the information because it was too much for one 4 minute video in most cases.

Besides from the inconvenience of having to stop and go back several several times, the information is amazing and the visual exercises are incredible.

I hate not being able to send my homework but oh well... no money.

By Amin Ojaghlou

Nov 17, 2018

It was one of the best online courses I have attended before. I liked syllabus and teacher. I boosted my knowledge about typography in English and knew good information about some specific typefaces as well. I recommend this course for everyone is interested in typography in English letters.

By Mario Diaz Bustamante

Nov 13, 2018

It was a great learning experience

By Mohamed Chand

Nov 08, 2018

Very intricate course, 5/5 great teachers.

By Олександр Святославович Мерленко

Nov 07, 2018

Thank you so much for such a great course! For valuable knowledge, great editing and fun activities. I will be definitely recommending this course to my friends who are also interested in Graphic Design. Wish you all the best! Alex.

By Penny

Oct 29, 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise