Chevron Left
Back to Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan by The University of Tokyo

4.8
193 ratings
62 reviews

About the Course

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top reviews

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

JA

Dec 16, 2018

i loved it! it was very detailed in terms of historical literature and photographic culture and the narrator really explained everything very well.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 64 Reviews for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

By Philippe S

May 19, 2019

Interesting and unexpected

By Amita K

Apr 15, 2019

Exceptional material and a great lecturer!!

By JIN T

Jul 15, 2019

Great subject and helped solving the modern Japanese esthetic puzzles. But I think Robert Campbell is not well-prepared in this course as a narrator. If could just use half of the "emm" in the lecture, the videos will sorter for sure, but still watching him talking about something he loves is extremely fascinating.

By Zongpu L

Jul 10, 2019

The course is very interesting. It not only introduces the traditional Japanese art with its comments but also talks about the photos and postcards.

By ZHOU G

May 06, 2019

Thank you Professor Robert. I enjoyed this course a lot. I came with the expectation of learning more about japanese culture, history and art. This expected is partly met. Yet, I feel like this course is too short and lack of depth. In addition, perhaps it can stress and introduce more about how those pieces of paintings and poems had impacted the contemporary society of Japan so as to contextualize and signify those arts. Anyway, thanks for the course.

By spyridon c

Apr 20, 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

By Fanny W G

Apr 10, 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

By Vy N

Mar 16, 2019

I love this course!!!

By Melina C K

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

By radovan m

Mar 05, 2019

This course, presented by a very charismatic lecturer, opened a whole new literary world for me and provided me with a lot of inspiration for my photographic work. I went through all four modules in two weeks and ended up with more curiosity about the subject :)

By Carmen

Feb 22, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

By Luiza R V d C

Feb 15, 2019

Incrível, me ajudou muito com a minha pesquisa!

By Aurea L R

Feb 10, 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

By jawaahir a

Dec 16, 2018

i loved it! it was very detailed in terms of historical literature and photographic culture and the narrator really explained everything very well.

By Katrin W

Nov 22, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

By Father A

Nov 07, 2018

Good synopsis of the subject, accompanied by enough historical background information to understand the images and their captions. I only wish it would also provide a bit more philosophical and religious background.

By Yujin l

Nov 02, 2018

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

By Alena V

Nov 02, 2018

Thank you! Brilliant course, very inspiring.

By Мальчикова С П

Oct 31, 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

By yan l

Oct 09, 2018

Fantastic course and the teacher is so erudited. After the course, I want to have more MOOCS with this teacher. What an intellectual model this teacher is!

By Barbara K

Sep 21, 2018

charming course, beautifully presented

By Steve B

Jun 10, 2018

I have learned more from this course than some whole degree programmes. Partly this is because Professor Campbell is the 'real thing' - an academic who invests himself in his interests. I imagine him in his serarch through antiquarian book and art shops - turning over photographs. He seems always to be thinking.Yet he has a great way of communicating.I will miss this course when it is finished.

By Vira T

May 10, 2018

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

By Alastair T S

Apr 29, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I started out without knowing anything about Japanese Art and Literature in the 19th century and finished the course understanding quite a lot. I would like to follow up this course with others if possible, one area of interest to me is the art of Rakugo and how it developed and changed from the Edo period into the Meiji period.

By Caelyn M

Apr 16, 2018

Very interesting material; but the course was too short. I wish it could have provided more background material and explored more examples.